DEV Community

Carson Evans
Carson Evans

Posted on

Hi, I'm Carson Evans

I have been coding for 20 years.

You can find me on Twitter as @carsonevans and on my blog carsonevans.com

I live in Fairfax County, Virginia, where my wife and I run a software development company called Digital Ambit

Historically I have focused on web development and content management systems, sometimes with a commerce integration. Lately I have been more focused on data integrations and APIs.

I can write in many languages and know several open source frameworks. I prefer PHP using Laravel for writing APIs or quick applications. I use Drupal for content based sites. When doing data integrations for enterprises I will often write services in C#. I have built sites in the .Net MVC when companies don't want to run PHP. I also know my way around several of the AWS services.

I hack on node.js and the many JavaScript front end frameworks that are out there when I am playing around. I try to attend local PHP, API, Drupal, and Node.js meetups whenever possible.

I would love a chance to work on node for an enterprise client but have yet to convince one of my existing ones to let me do so.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome Carson! What got you interested in Node?

Collapse
 
carsonevans profile image
Carson Evans

I was a "full stack" developer back when "Advanced HTML" was just nesting tables together and JavaScript was used for link hovers. As front-end became a more specialized thing I gravitated towards the JavaScript side of things but continued to do back-end work mostly. When Node presented itself as a way to do JavaScript on the back-end I was immediately intrigued. I still don't have any professional experience doing it, but hack around on it as much as I can.