DEV Community

Cover image for Let's Go Camping!
Christine Belzie
Christine Belzie

Posted on with Thomas Bnt โ˜• • Updated on

Let's Go Camping!

Note: This is a submission for the DEV Challenge, Glam Up My Markup: Camp Activities_

What we built

@thomasbnt and I built a video game style form where players pick camping activities from the dropdown menu and have the option to share their character's food allergies and other information that the counsellor, aka the game's mentor. Once players hit the submit button, they'll be notified "A new player who loves [activity you chose] entered into the party!" and the game will continue1.

Update

After you pick click "Submit", the background changes to suit the activity you have chosen. You can see this in the demo below.

Demo

GIF of Thomas and I's project. It shows a pixelated campsite at night with a title "Camp Activities Inquiry" in red font. Underneath,you see a form with a dropdown menu that encourages you to choose Hiking, Canoeing, Fishing, Crafts, and Archery. The user picks "Hiking". From there, the background magically turns into the sky with dark clouds and the phrase "A new player who loves hiking entered into the party!" appears at the bottom of the submit button

demo link

source code link

Inspiration

I was thinking about back to my childhood playing video games like Pokemon Silver or The Legend of Zelda. So, I thought to myself "Why not bring this theme to the form?". When I presented my idea to @thomasbnt, he loved my idea and from there, we got to work.

Struggles

During this challenge, I struggled with creating the cartoon pointer effect. At first, I had the code like this:

select {
 cursor: auto;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After noticing that the pointer would not appear and doing some googling, I realized that it needed an image of the cartoon hand. So, I found one at Freepik.com2, went to MDN Web Docs's article about the cursor property to learn how to link the image, and did this:

select {
 cursor: url(/images/cursor_pointer.png), auto;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Save code snippet

For Thomas, he had trouble with targeting the submit button with JavaScript since it did not have an id. After doing some research, he came up with this

const submit = document.getElementsByTagName("button")[0];
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Save code snippet

My overall feelings about this challenge

I had fun doing this challenge(shoutout to @thomasbnt for being an awesome partner! ๐Ÿ˜Š) and can't wait to do the next one. If you want to see more of mine and Thomas' coding adventures, follow us on dev.to and check the other links below:

Me

๐Ÿฆ Follow me on X(Twitter)

๐Ÿ“ Check out my other content on Hashnode

๐Ÿซฑ๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿซฒ๐Ÿป Connect with me on Linkedin

Thomas

๐Ÿฆ Follow Thomas on X(Twitter)

๐ŸŒ Check out Thomas' website

๐Ÿซฑ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿซฒ๐Ÿฝ Connect with Thomas on Linkedin

Footnotes


  1. This is just an idea we made in our head. ย โ†ฉ

  2. Image by macrovector on Freepikย โ†ฉ

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So rad!! I'm loving this. I'm especially digging the retro video game graphics.

I just went through the demo and my only gripe is that it needs to have a better confirmation in the end.

After I submit I get the message a new player who loves canoeing entered into the party, but I kinda expect to see some of the cool stuff. Like, it'd be nice to see who else is in the canoe party with me or what the overall party makeup is like. Maybe the screen should take me to another graphic that is themed around canoeing (or whatever thing I choose).

Anyway, lotsa potential here and I'm digging it!

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Thanks for the feedback @michaeltharrington! ๐Ÿ˜Š We wanted to keep it simple since it was due soon, but that's something to add to in the future. What do you think @thomasbnt?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

That def makes sense! There's only so much ya can complete in a limited time. And it truly is a cool concept with nice execution!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•

I like the idea of the background changing!

Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•