DEV Community

Charanjit Chana
Charanjit Chana

Posted on

As usual, less is more

I spent an hour today tweaking how the layout works. I had somehow made margins and paddings behave slightly differently for mobile and desktop without actually overriding anything. To be honest I’m still not sure how I did it but after taking it back to basics, it now scales correctly.

I’ve now noticed an issue with searching on mobile Safari after reworking some logic around jumping to page anchors. The jist of it is that padding: fixed is ignored when the virtual keyboard is shown. Annoying but nothing I can do about it in CSS it seems. Maybe I’ll reevaluate how the header works, but as always you can see my progress so far here: https://theneptunes.1thingaweek.com/

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
fahmifan profile image
fahmi irfan

Nice app man. Only one cons i found. When i type in search bar, it feels like freezing. Maybe add a search button, so it wont update the dom every time we types

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Thanks for the feedback! I’ve been thinking the same about search. It wasn’t really a problem until I changed where the results are displayed. It’s a better experience on desktop but problematic on iOS. What OS did you use to test it?

I’ll probably go with a search button tbh, takes any ambiguity out of it and will provide a much nicer experience for everyone.

Collapse
 
fahmifan profile image
fahmi irfan

I test your web app on Android phone.

Thread Thread
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Thanks, so it’s a common problem across devices rather than OS specific which means a search button will take care of that. Thank you again for your comment and suggestion! πŸ˜€

Thread Thread
 
fahmifan profile image
fahmi irfan

Sure, no problem man πŸ‘

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

That looks really great. Keep on going. Good luck in the challenge.