DEV Community

Charanjit Chana
Charanjit Chana

Posted on • Updated on

My first impressions of the DigitalOcean App Platform

I have to say I'm very impressed with the DigitalOcean App Platform. I'm an existing customer and had come across it in the last month or so but didn't really see how it was relevant to me. At least not for the small scale stuff I do in my spare time.

I want to make a submission for the #dohackathon so got stuck in for an hour or so to see what it was all about and to my surprise I'm really enjoying it. It's perfect for a lot of the stuff I do. I'm going to measure existing performance and bandwidth usage and I'm contemplating making the switch from their traditional offering and jumping over to the App Platform...

The only issue I've encountered was adding custom domains on mobile. Kept getting a 401 error, but it worked first time on desktop.

You can preview the first idea I've pushed out over at https://whisky.charanj.it - nowhere near finished but it feels great to get started!

I'm planning to finish before the year is out, but I really hope I can get it finished in the next week or two.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

I've been using DigitalOcean droplet for about 4 years. I have some ASP.NET web sites that would go cold so now I have a cron that runs every 8 minutes from DO and hit a very small page (using curl) to insure the web sites stay alive. It's a hack way to keep web sites alive. :) Anyways, i checked out your app. It looks good but I can tell you're still working on it. I've just created my entry into the #dohackathon also. check it out and let me know what you think, if you get a chance. thx

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Yeah I’m no where near finishing yet. I actually had the same problem and a similar solution. I finally looked into fixing the issue and turned out that MySQL just needed more RAM!

Your project looks very interesting, I’ll take a deeper dive when I get some time later this week.

Collapse
 
kamalhossain profile image
Kamal Hossain

Does DigitalOcean supports Payoneer?

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Sorry, I have no idea!

Collapse
 
kamalhossain profile image
Kamal Hossain

nevermind