DEV Community

Cover image for How To Become A Tech Professional by Finding The Right Udemy Courses
Castro Agbo
Castro Agbo

Posted on

How To Become A Tech Professional by Finding The Right Udemy Courses

When I wanted to make the switch from being an Electrical Engineer to tech, I found it very difficult to decide what was right for me and how to go about it.

I did not have any experience with programming or writing code and did not know where to begin. Luckily for me, I had an idea where to start. I had worked with Macromedia Dreamweaver and Joomla way back when I was a kid so I knew about HTML and CSS. So I decided to start with learning HTML and CSS so I could start from designing web apps. This was in July, 2019.

I got on Udemy and Coursera and started surfing around to find what courses I could pay for to get me started. I got lucky fast enough and landed on the course “Build Responsive Real World Websites with HTML5 and CSS3” by Jonas Schmedtmann. I was a newbie to the world of tech and web development and this course was just the right stepping stone I needed to be introduced to Javascript and web development. He took his time to explain every detail and we built a website which I tweaked and deployed on my own.

I have now gone on as a stepping stone from that course to learn advanced Javascript and other higher order functions. I have been able to chart a path in web development that made me learn the right things at the right time and when I was fully ready to comprehend them. I learnt jQuery and then moved on to the backend to learn NodeJs and deployed a full web app. I have then gone on to learn React and Vue and they all became coherent because I was fortunate enough to follow the ‘right’ path to grasping all of the essential libraries.

It is because of the problems I encountered when I was getting into tech that I decided to create a Google Chrome extension to help anyone who wants to get into a particular field to be able to just select that field from the dropdown and relevant Udemy courses will be displayed to make it easier for you not to get confused in a web full of a lot of information and courses. These are not my own courses but courses of great tutors like Brad Traversy, Maximilian Schwarzmüller, Jose Portilla, Angela Yu etc. who helped me when I began as a novice and I believe if they did a good job with me, then they must be good enough to recommend.

Alt Text

So from the image, there are categories such as FrontEnd Web Developer, BackEnd Web Developer etc. to choose from and depending on your choice, a list of course will show up when you click on Search. You can then click on Go To Course, and it will take you directly to the Udemy course page and then you can watch the preview videos and buy the course if you like them. It’s as simple as that. You can watch a video below to see how it works.

You can download extension here.

Top comments (0)