DEV Community

Cerin Demox
Cerin Demox

Posted on

How do you handle lack of self-confidence in the programming field?

I am recently into my second(and final year) of community college taking up Computer Science/Programming. However, I haven't been confident in going back to coding since my final projects in my previous semester were submitted unfinished. I did pass, though I wish I had completed them or had the confidence to understand how to tackle the problems.

Going into my first assignment I am already feeling stressed because I am unsure how to solve this problem and it's making me question if I have what it takes to be a programmer.

I am also trying to find ways to better my knowledge and understanding of each programming language and how I can implement it

Any tips or how would you handle self-confidence and such?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Code more. The best way to be confident when coding is to practice coding. That being said, what you described sounds a little bit like imposter syndrome (however, I'm not a doctor, so don't quote me on that). It's very common with programmers, and thus there's a lot of resources out there to help with it. Consequently, there's a lot more ways to deal with it than just "code more". Find what works best for you!