DEV Community

Doron Chapnitsky
Doron Chapnitsky

Posted on

Git bash commands

My recent contribution on github is to the kantoniko project.

I wanted to help so I looked up some of the open issues that are not resolved yet. I saw a cool, urgent labeled, request about adding the name of the contributors of the kantoniko project, to the website about page. I decided to explore the project and to setup the environment locally.

At first I was confused by the many repositories that the project has. I was looking for the about file so I can modify it. After a long search I used our course slack channel and got the file's location by the help of @szabgab .

The workflow went as described:

I opened my git bash and created a new folder and entered it using cd command:
mkdir kantoniko
cd kantoniko

Cloned the repository that is responsible for the website pages and entered it using cd command:
git clone https://github.com/chapnitsky/ladino-pages.git
cd ladino-pages/

I noticed that the about page is in English only so I entered the en directory and listed all of the files in it:
cd en/
ll

I found out that the file I needed to modify is called about.md, and decided to edit it via vi command:
vi about.md

While in the vi editor, I pressed INSERT so I could enter new data to the file, the contributors names and their profile's url. When I finished the modification, I wanted to save the file with all of the changes and exit the editor. You can do that by pressing ESC button and using this sytax, that means write and quit:
:wq

I wanted to see only the changes so I used the diff command:
git diff

Once I was satisfied with the results I added and commited the changes:
git add about.md
git commit -m "Added contributors to the 'about' page"

After commiting, I pushed it to my forked repository by:
git push

By the end, I opened a PR so the changes will be added to the project as needed.

It felt great using this kind of technic without using github GUI.
I hope I contributed a lot and that the kantoniko project is getting more progress!

Top comments (0)