DEV Community

Charmaine Allison
Charmaine Allison

Posted on

My first week completing "Skills Bootcamp in Front-End Web Development" pre-work

Being assaulted in my current line of work twice within a month has shown me that I need a significant change. It's my second week into being off sick and I'm thinking of as many ways I can get out of the industry I am currently in but unfortunately, all of my academic qualifications, vocational skills and workplace training all leads back to the same industry.

However, it dawned on me that this time away from work on sick could be an opportunity, a big opportunity. If I can use this time effectively, the light at the end of the tunnel could become visible. There was only one way I could think to use this time; Firstly, I need to develop a set of completely unrelated skill to the ones I currently have in counselling / risk management, and secondly, I want these skills to be something I have previously wanted to develop or shown an interest in but didn't continue.

Listing my number of interests since my teen years seemed impossible to narrow down, horse riding, animals, yoga, running, swimming, weight lifting and reading. I also didn't want to ruin some of these as they are still hobbies and turning them into work would make them a chore. However, I remember as a teen, I had an interest in website design, how the internet worked, basic coding and anything related to computers thanks to my Dad. Don't get me wrong, I had no idea what I was doing, nor was I good at making websites on Wix / Wordpress, but I enjoyed it. This also seemed like an easily accessible skill to develop online at home.

On set the search for a structured course I could complete, preferably a free one as I don't know if I'm going to be good at it (thanks Imposter's Syndrome). I found SheCodes and completed their free first lesson and I loved it, I had to learn more.

Then, thanks to targeted ads, I found "Skills Bootcamp in Front-End Web Development" by Skills for Life.

I'm now completing the pre-work before the course begins on 07/11 and enjoying every bit! I've made my way to the "Connecting with community online" section, hence my first post on here.

Any advice or help is very welcome and greatly appreciated!

  • Charmaine

Top comments (0)