DEV Community

Cover image for Level 4, Schmeltool (Coslpore3D Pt:15)
Chig Beef
Chig Beef

Posted on

Level 4, Schmeltool (Coslpore3D Pt:15)

Intro

This is a series following Cosplore3D, a raycaster game to learn 3D graphics. This project is part of 12 Months 12 Projects, a challenge I set myself. We've been doing a lot of level development recently so I though why not just create the last level?

Using The Level Editor

After creating an image for Schmeltool walls, I put together what I though would be an alright level design.

Schmeltool in the editor

Since this is the last level I tried to add quite a few enemies, along with quite a bit of ammo to compensate. We're using the trash crawlers that we made previously as enemies.
Here's what it looks like in 3D

Schmeltool in 3D

There's quite a big room at the bottom, this is where the player will fight the final boss, so I made sure there was plenty of room for that.

Getting To Schmeltool

To get to Schmeltool from Enikoko, we need to create a new Progressor that will take us to that level. Here is the little bit of code we had to add this new Progressor.

case 22: // Progressor (Has Cosmium)
    code = 0
    progressors = append(progressors, Progressor{
        tileSize * (float64(col)),
        tileSize * (float64(row)),
        tileSize,
        tileSize,
        has_cosmium,
        "schmeltool",
    })
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

That little bit of extra code has made the chain of Ankaran, The Cosplrer, Enikoko, and Schmeltool complete.

Playthrough

Obviously, for me the game isn't that hard. I know where every ammo item and enemy is, so nothing is a surprise. However, there are a few visual things I would like to fix.

Next

We will be making a few visual additions to make the game play nicer and make more sense, such as seeing the items in your inventory. Little changes like this that I think are core to making the game seem playable (because although it is currently playable, it looks like a prototype).

Top comments (0)