DEV Community

Chilarai
Chilarai

Posted on

Why do you still use Php?

It's not that I have anything against PHP. I have been a very avid PHP user myself and I like PHP very much. I have used it to create a lot of websites and applications.

But is it relevant now to learn for new users considering I only see a very few engagement on framework like Laravel/ WordPress? and other programming languages are gaining popularity on terms of ease, convenience on development and app processing speed?

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

PHP powers the majority of websites at the moment. Over 1/3 of the Internet is WordPress.

I use PHP because there's a demand for it. I couple it with several other languages on both back and front end development.

The progress the language has made over the last few years is a statement of its intention for longevity.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Yes the intention of the php guys and their vision is actually commendable along with c, cpp, javascript and java.
Always have given tough competition

Collapse
 
l3lackheart profile image
l3lackheart

just becuz im in love with laravel and its ecosystem 😂😂

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai • Edited

I love the simplicity. But a career is difficult and also the client expectations on the client side. Don't you think it will be phased out very soon

Collapse
 
l3lackheart profile image
l3lackheart

what do your client side mean?
cuz if its about the frontend, the ux ui thing, then nothing wrong with php or laravel. I recommend you to try vue/react/svelte + api, or vue/react/svelte + inertia, or just livewire is enuf :v
if you mean the performance, I think php is pretty fast. Still feel laravel kinda slow? Meet Phalcon :v
To sum up, My servers can handle 10 times the traffic if they weren't busy apologizing for my own shit code base

Thread Thread
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Thing is you still need to learn js framework with php to speed up the performance in the UI side. Also these days js frameworks can work with both frontend and backend

Need pointers here cuz so many people have ditched php already here

Thread Thread
 
l3lackheart profile image
l3lackheart

well then, lemme introduce you to Livewire
and here are something you might get confuse with Livewire

Thread Thread
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Hmm. Thanks I will checkout their GitHub and learn about it. Something interesting

Collapse
 
michaelphipps profile image
Phippsy

Because I am not an employee who needs to keep up with whatever language is in fashion just to keep getting paid. Instead of having just a few years experience in the latest fad, I have 25+ years experience with PHP, HTML, and Javascript.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Nice.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Do you frequently use any php based framework

Thread Thread
 
michaelphipps profile image
Phippsy

I use Slim.

Collapse
 
samuelsantos99 profile image
Samuel Santos Henrique • Edited

I'm developer PHP in Brazil and i don't regret learning the language.

Not just because of the number of projects, but the language power. PHP is constancly updating your resources, has a huge community and much to envolve yet.

PHP is linear, not is hype of the languages, but endures over the years. PHP will survive if the community keeps it active, if WE use it to develop new projects and technologies.

I'm a entusiast of the PHP because him has a great power and a long future.

This not exclude new technologies that merge with PHP and your stack.

One stack not exclude other stack.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

I agree PHP is powerful and used by a lot. But do you also plan on to learn any other language apart from PHP in the future

Collapse
 
snorkypie profile image
Steeve Lennmark

To quote Bane. I was born in it, molded by it. Oh well, not really but it definitely was the first language I got really proficient in (after Perl). I still grab it out of my toolbox when I need to hack something together quick or demo a concept. I mean, it even has a webserver built-in for for that purpose!

But to be a bit more serious, PHP is going to be around for a -long- time. Some of the webs most successful projects like WordPress aren't going anywhere any time soon. Plus it's actually developed in to a pretty decent language over the years. I remember starting out on version 3 and oh boy did it suck. But coming from Perl it was actually a breath of fresh air.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

The need of a server software to parse the php code.... dont you think makes it cumbersome as compared to javascript, golang, etc

Collapse
 
yoursunny profile image
Junxiao Shi

My website yoursunny.com is proudly powered by PHP, without any frameworks or databases. Compared to 2008, most of the website is static now, but there are some dynamic sections, such as the list of random blog posts on the homepage that refreshes automatically.

PHP is easy to deploy. I upload the script to a folder under nginx, and it works.

For every Node or Go service, I have to (1) assign IP address and port, (2) start the service via pm2 or systemd, (3) configure reverse proxy in nginx or Cloudflare.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Agreed. You have to restart everytime a new code is added in other languages

Collapse
 
itxdeeni profile image
Deen Muaz

Google the fastest growing language in 2020.

No matter what people say or do.

There is high demand for PHP developers, it's a good skill to have.

I myself plan to learn it 😂

Collapse
 
clavinjune profile image
Clavin June

I'm no longer use PHP but, website creator business in my country seems to like to use a shared hosting which only support LAMP stack. That's why many people still using PHP.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai • Edited

Yes this is true. It must be a difficult business for shared hosting servers to compete against AWS and others

It brings us a lots of challenges to choose a programming language when the infra doesn't support other languages and considering the cost effectiveness of servers

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

I would say don't use PHP anymore for new projects, go with serverless or Node, or Go

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Does it somehow save coding time and money? Or are they better to manage

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

Yes I think it saves you coding time. But just use what you like, but php is a giant mess that is kept alive by WordPress and freelancers.

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Can you also give me some examples of loosing solutions with SPF