DEV Community

Chris W
Chris W

Posted on

Devgrad2020: bonjour-hi

My Project

I'm not allowed to show my capstone project in my final year but I would like to show one of my favorite projects at a Hackathon (YHacks) while I was a student :)

Alt Text

Bonjour-hi is a multilingual video chat room platform, allowing you to video chat with people from all around the world, without having to speak their language!

You can create video chat rooms, and invite other users to join them. Each user picks their own language, and they hear all of the other users, translated to their own language! You can have a chatroom with someone speaking German, someone speaking English, and someone speaking French, and they'll all be hearing the conversation in their own language, allowing for easy communication with anyone.

Link to Code

https://github.com/chriskfwoo/bonjour-hi

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

Flask, React, Sockets, Google APIs

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

This project was really fun to make and we won the Facebook challenge at the Hackathon (Yale University)! 🥳

Congrats to 2020 graduates!

Top comments (0)