DEV Community

Cover image for Lazy Questions
Chuck Ha
Chuck Ha

Posted on

Lazy Questions

I don't think there are dumb questions. I do think there are lazy questions. I classify a lazy question as a question where the answer is googleable or is documented in a well-known location. If you're a programmer asking me about the implementation of a function and you have no reason not to read it and understand it yourself, I expect you to go read the code, not ask me how it works.

How do you feel when people ask you questions that are googleable or might require a bit of code or documentation reading?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mteheran profile image
Miguel Teheran

depending on the situation some developers could be mental exhaust and because of that, they ask simple questions. it is something human.

Collapse
 
chuck_ha profile image
Chuck Ha

You're totally right! I think there's a lot of gray area with regard to lazy questions. In that particular case I'd hope they could stop working if they are that tired, but if they are hitting a deadline and are super tired I think there might be some good content for a retrospective on the sprint/deadline. I'd definitely want to help my colleagues if they are under pressure.