DEV Community

Alex K.
Alex K.

Posted on

Recommendations for code snippets services

I'm using Github's gists to share code in some of the posts on Medium, but I quickly realised that because it's not possible to organise or group them (maybe I'm missing some hidden piece of functionality), after you have quite a few gists, tracking particular one becomes too cumbersome.

I was wondering if there are any other services for creating and sharing code snippets? Code highlight for different languages is the main requirement.

I briefly tried Carbon and while the visuals are very good, the code is pasted as an image, so it's not possible to select it in a blog post (again maybe I'm missing smth here :D).

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
canas profile image
Cristobal Silva

How about Cacher? cacher.io/
Free license is rather limited though.

Collapse
 
clarity89 profile image
Alex K.

That looks interesting! Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a try.