DEV Community

Clint Maruti
Clint Maruti

Posted on

What's Your Biggest Distraction When Coding?

Hi Guys,

I'm doing research on productivity and would love it if you'd please share some of your biggest distractions when you are coding.

Thanks.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Google, but I cannot live without it.
I’m always googling for an answer on how to write some line of code and before I know it, 30 minutes has passed and I’m down some path looking at something unrelated. Sometimes it’s a software library that might be useful later. Worse is when I spot an ad that might pop up for something totally different like shoes or makeup and I find myself shopping online again!

Collapse
 
clintdev profile image
Clint Maruti

haha woow this happens to me too

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Yeah, but you’re probably not shopping for the same clothes I do. 😄

Thread Thread
 
clintdev profile image
Clint Maruti

haha definitely not, In most cases, I'd end up shopping for a cool tech I've seen pop up from the ads

Collapse
 
xanderyzwich profile image
Corey McCarty

Meetings and random conversations are the most unavoidable, but reddit, discord, and dev.to are the biggest time sinks.

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

Other people. Number 1 distraction

Collapse
 
clintdev profile image
Clint Maruti

Interesting, you'd rather prefer your own space

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

I spend a lot of time remote, thankfully.