DEV Community

Cover image for Does anyone here use an under desk treadmill or elliptical while working?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee Subscriber

Posted on

Does anyone here use an under desk treadmill or elliptical while working?

It's about to get cold here, and as much as I tell myself I'll take a walk outside everyday, I know I won't.

I was thinking about an under desk elliptical since they are so tiny but I don't know anyone who's actually incorporated one into their day-to-day. I know a few folks who love their under desk treadmill but they visually seem so clunky to me that it feels like a bigger risk / investment.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
jackkeller profile image
Jack Keller

I used the heck out of mine, being a remote worker was making it difficult to get in enough steps per day. I found that if I used my first hour or so to do solo work I could get through it relatively easily before standups and the likes would start.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

That's awesome. I don't know why it's taken me this long to even consider getting one!

Collapse
 
machreed29 profile image
Mason Reed

I use my under desk treadmill pretty frequently at my standing desk, but it did take a bit to get used to typing while walking

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Cool! Which one do you use?

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Planning to get one after I move house in the next few months!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Good luck with the move 😬

Collapse
 
robinweser profile image
Robin Weser

I've been using a treadmill for over 5 years now - can only recommend it!
Started out with a compact one that only went up to 6km/h, but eventually replaced it with a foldable one that can go up to 10km/h. That way I can also use it for slow zone 2 runs when it's raining outside.
While working I typically go for ~4km/h as that's fast enough to actually feel like walking and still slow enough to have proper stability. Make sure to position your desk at the correct height, so that your lower arms can rest comfortably on it.

Mine is called WalkingPad R1 Pro and it's being marketed under different manufacturers. Cost me around 550€ here in Germany. I really like it and it's easy to set up, but the app is trash. I usually have my phone in my pocket, so I get the steps tracked anyways, but if you want to have a proper app that syncs everything (not just steps, but also distance, kcal, etc.) you might want to check for alternatives.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Thank you for sharing! WalkingPad is the one I'm eyeing but my friend told me his broke pretty quickly so I've been hesitant about that brand.

Collapse
 
robinweser profile image
Robin Weser

I've been lucky with mine so far. 3 years of almost daily usage and still going strong. But there've been a lot of new products since covid, so definitely check some reviews!