DEV Community

Cover image for Water Cooler Talk: How do you Practice Coding ?
Justin
Justin

Posted on

Water Cooler Talk: How do you Practice Coding ?

With the start of the new year lots of Devs have goals of sharpen up a their coding skills.

My question to you is how do you practice coding ? I'd like this to be a place to share our best practices and help kick off 2021 with new perspectives to improve ourselves :D

Leave a comment below on ways you've figured out to practice coding ! :D

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
cdthomp1 profile image
Cameron Thompson

By doing! A great way to practice is to build something!

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Wow, that's a good idea !! I'll see if I can recreate some parts of jquery :)

Collapse
 
grantralls profile image
Grant Ralls

Now that I'm coming up on the end of my computer science degree, implementing ideas explored throughout my time in college.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Ah! So like side projects ?

Collapse
 
grantralls profile image
Grant Ralls

I hesitate to call it a side project since it's typically difficult to do an actual demo. It's purely there for my programming and comprehension practice. Most recently I started implementing data structures using generics in typescript. I wrote them as packages so maybe they will get used in a project of mine in the future!

Collapse
 
meddy672 profile image
Matt Eddy

Watching videos, reading books, and most importantly writing code that is used frequently within development.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Some times I feel like in tutorial hell, lol.

Collapse
 
cdthomp1 profile image
Cameron Thompson

If you are new, rewriting built in methods can be great too.

Thread Thread
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I do need to get familiar with array methods great idea !

 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Ah ! This is the way.