DEV Community

Cover image for Which Browser Do you Use ?
Justin
Justin

Posted on

Which Browser Do you Use ?

What browser do you use ?
What features would make you switch ?

I recently changed to Vivaldi after few recommendations.

Comment down below.

Top comments (54)

Collapse
 
mafflerbach profile image
mafflerbach

Qutebrowser, a chromium based web browser completely keyboard driven.

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I use Qb as well. Do you have problems going into hints on this website (dev.to)? I have to always do a double hint to execute the link.

Collapse
 
mafflerbach profile image
mafflerbach

Do you have an example? I have problems with the outlook web gui, because they use sometime spans which are attached to a click event. And sometimes with ctrl+(k/j) with scrolling the pages.

Thread Thread
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

For instance if I want to click Dev logo to go home page I have to press F, the hint and the press F and the same hint before it actually loads the page

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Wow, Now that is interesting twist for a browser.

Collapse
 
jpuls profile image
Jeff Puls

I've been using Brave for the past few years. I'd recommend giving it a shot if you haven't used it. It's basically Chrome with built-in ad and tracker/fingerprint blocking.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I do like the sound of built-in ad tracking. I'll give it a try.

Collapse
 
riversiderocks profile image
RiversideRocks

Firefox is pretty solid for privacy.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Nice, what features do they offer for privacy ?

Collapse
 
riversiderocks profile image
RiversideRocks

They offer tracker blocking + ad blocking built in.

Collapse
 
alohe profile image
Alohe

I used firefox when I was using Linux wasn't a big fan because the UI seemed analog-ish at the time then I saw chrome about 5 years ago and been using that ever since all the features and updates of it are awesome it also syncs with my phone and can send web URLs and phone numbers directly to my phone and a lot more cool features made me love it.

Collapse
 
saisandeepvaddi profile image
Sai Sandeep Vaddi

Been using new Edge. I love it.

Although similar to chrome, feels a little faster. Love it's 3D View tab to debug Z-index.

But I'm concerned about Google products working slow. YouTube loads slower in Edge. __
dev.to/saisandeepvaddi/is-youtube-...

Might be only me. Not sure though.

Occasionally I use Firefox as well. Mostly for testing the websites.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I haven't given Edge a chance. The 3D view sounds like a great feature.

Collapse
 
anthonygushu profile image
Anthony Gushu

Brave is dope

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

What's up with the cryptocurrency feature ?

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

It's bs, it's basically watch or view ads. You can't really back them up. I lost them when I had to reinstall the browser. I instead in many different OSes and on my phone. They never sync. I got rid of it after using it for like 2 months. It is just another Chrome browser with that crypto currency gimick

Thread Thread
 
anthonygushu profile image
Anthony Gushu • Edited

I respectfully disagree.

First, I haven't had to 'watch' any ads, since they're all text push notifications with a subject and description - no images or videos. Also, you have full granular control over the frequency they come up. On MacOS and iOS they don't bother me one bit, and I turned it up to the max where I get one every 15 minutes. On Windows, it can admittedly be annoying to hear the push notification sound, which I bet there's a way to turn off but I've just gotten used to it - so it's a personal preference.

You can shut the browser ad-reward aspect off entirely and still use the crypto feature if you value web monetization and contributing to creators. It adds elements to popular platforms like GitHub/Reddit so that you can directly tip people with actual currency rather than aesthetic awards. Also from the browser, you can painlessly contribute BAT to websites that support web monetization. Conversely, it allows you to use your wallet to easily enable websites you own for people to contribute BAT back to you as well.

As far as multiple browsers on the same wallet, you're able to verify and sync your wallet once it has 25 BAT in it which takes a month or two of using it as your daily driver to naturally accumulate on your primary device using max frequency. You could also fill that wallet with a couple of bucks of BAT from the get-go to hit that threshold and just log into your wallet on all devices if you want to use Brave on everything. I've synced my sessions and have made >$15 in the past couple of months where Chrome would've given me nil. Donated some to Wikipedia, which feels awesome since it's generated from my regular browsing habits and coding at work.

The ad feature ties into their Shield feature which gives you the option to shut out all intrusive page ads & trackers and instead opt-in for the privacy-respecting browser-level ads that don't track you. It cuts down on page load time, in some cases very significantly (like on many news sites).

I really like the business model where a bulk of the price that the advertiser paid for you to see the ad gets passed on to you for viewing it.

EDIT: this is what those ads look like on MacOS - Brave ad example

Thread Thread
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I was using it on Linux (Kali & Arch), I was using it on Windows, and Android phone. I tried to sync the sessions and it didn't work. It just zeroed me out.
This is pretty much the same as a chrome browser expect with that ad feature. It didn't fit my needs at the end.

Collapse
 
granthair5 profile image
Grant Hair

I recently made the switch to Opera GX and it is awesome, sidebar for all my communications, Opera flow, built in VPN, ad blocker, no more YouTube ads, super easy on the ram, forced dark mode pages, media player in the sidebar, did I mention the sidebar. Plus it's the only browser dedicated for Gamers with super sick RGB keyboards

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I'll have to give Opera a chance. How is the VPN on it ?

Collapse
 
alohe profile image
Alohe • Edited

if it's for work and productivity meetsidekick.com/ Sidekick is the best new browser with a different layout than just being another browser

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I like app based way of thinking.

Collapse
 
alohe profile image
Alohe

Yea its really cool but chrome also has the pin and group feature soo I like chrome

Collapse
 
mohit789 profile image
mohit vishwakarma

I uses chrome and I loved it

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Nice, what about it would lead you to recommend it ?

Collapse
 
mohit789 profile image
mohit vishwakarma

first and for most is for its extensions,you can actually install some of the best extension for better
like AdBlocker,keep,extension product history for online shopping

Thread Thread
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I'll have to check out the extension library :D

Collapse
 
eriklz profile image
Erik Lundevall Zara

Brave, more privacy-oriented than Chrome.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I do like the idea of privacy, lol :D

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I use multiple ones. Qutebrowser is my main one for linux, Lynx for text based browser when viewing stuff from my email.

For windows, main one now is Whale Never, Edge, and Chrome. In that order.

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

I use both Vivaldi and QuteBrowser, QB is my primary browser though.
Vivaldi is when I want to login to things with a diff username and such.

Collapse
 
redcreator37 profile image
RedCreator37

Firefox. I've tried to switch to Chrome/Brave many times but I always find myself coming back to FF. I also like that I can style the UI with CSS.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Sounds like true love to me :)

Collapse
 
blessinghirwa profile image
Blessing Hirwa

I'll check out Vivaldi.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Let me know what you think of it :D

Collapse
 
rajasekharguptha profile image
Rajasekhar Guptha

Chrome.. !
Because of extensions.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.