DEV Community

Cover image for What was your first computer?
Adrian
Adrian

Posted on

What was your first computer?

What was your first computer?

Leave your answer in the comments!

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
chautelly profile image
John • Edited

A 386. You could tell it to beep with a single line of code in QBasic and that's the sole reason I'm a developer today XD.

Collapse
 
easrng profile image
easrng

Try echo \a on any *nix.

Collapse
 
keltroth profile image
Django Janny

Very first (around 1990) : PCW 8256, learn some "basic" programmation language there.
Later (as student) (around 1997) : a generic 386 SX 40, so powerfull :p It supported my first linux install (Slackware, if my memory is right) which, at this time, was not easy at all !

Collapse
 
n8chz profile image
Lorraine Lee

First program written was in Basic on a Commodore PET belonging to instructor of a class offered by the Farmington Community Center, year was 1980, I was 15. Don't remember what the first program was, but programming exercises for the class were typically 10-20 line ditties for using a for loop to do some kind of summation or something.

First program I wrote on hardware I owned was on a TI-55-III programmable calculator, 1982 or 1983, time-in and time-out (in h, m, s) as input data and hours elapsed (in decimal, there's a "DMS-DD" key). Assumption was that time-in was AM and time-out PM if the latter was "lower" than the former. The calculator was "programmable" in the sense of running a sequence of keystrokes as a program. I used its "signum" function to sort of "emulate" a conditional branch, therefore I feel kind of justified counting it as programming.

First actual computer I owned was an Atari 400, obtained in 1983. Programmed mostly in Atari BASIC, w. some PILOT, assembly, Pascal, and "Inter Lisp 65". Wrote bignum +-*/ operations on string representations, arbitrary base conversions on same, lots of number theory exploration. Wrote a Russian-English vocabulary random flash card game (character pixel maps are rewritable). Can't remember what all else I wrote, thing was basically a plaything to me.

Collapse
 
willtrout profile image
Matt Willtrout

First that I touched: school TRS-80, BASIC, programs on cassette.
First for the family, a gift from my father: TI 38, learned to solder fixing that DIN connector.
Mom broke both joysticks playing Munch-Man

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48k back in 1983

Collapse
 
davelsan profile image
David Velasco

Man. That comment brings me back.

Mine was the ZX Spectrum +. My parents actually bought it for my brother, who was a 9 year old budding programmer at the time (I was 4).

I still remember very fondly playing games with an attached tape recorder. The expectation during those long loading screens...

Collapse
 
thefluxapex profile image
Ian Pride

Lol some of you all have awesome memories lol I can't remember what build I had, but it had Windows 98 & right after is when Windows 2000 came out & I upgraded. I had been on machines before that, but not since the old ones with floppy drives in grade school in the 80's where every other Friday my class got to go to a broom closet and 6 (class of 30 kids) people at a time got to go in for 15 minutes and try and play Oregon Trails or Carmen San Diego while the rest got to sit out in the hallway quietly for hours. Our schools didn't get real computer labs until just a few years ago.

Collapse
 
th3n00bc0d3r profile image
Muhammad

Details Specs

P1 200Mhz MMX
64 mb RAM
4GB Hardware
Windows 98, I upgraded to Windows ME

Collapse
 
rolfstreefkerk profile image
Rolf Streefkerk

Had a similar PC back in the day, but I started with a 486 DX40Mhz with 8MB Ram and 200Mbyte disk. That was my first PC

Collapse
 
bcamacho profile image
Brandy Camacho

8086XT, dual floppy, compact with flip-down keyboard, 80 lines of greenscreen beauty. Later on, I upgraded to a 20 meg MFM hard drive :)

Collapse
 
nicolaerario profile image
Nicola Erario

My first “hello world” like program was on my C16 (commodore)

Collapse
 
delta456 profile image
Swastik Baranwal

Self assembled PC with Windows Vista as OS.

Collapse
 
jeikabu profile image
jeikabu

Technically it was a Tandy Color Computer 2.
But the second was the one I started really using heavily: Packard Bell 486-SX with 4MB of RAM.

Collapse
 
mbadola profile image
Mayank Badola

Zenith P4 - used to spend a lot of time on netfundoogames.com!

Collapse
 
sleepycoderr profile image
SleepyCoderr

It was dell pentium 4 CPU with 256mb ram and 20gb hdd. And believe me or not I bought it for GTA Vice City.

Collapse
 
geoxion profile image
Dion Dokter

Some Pentium 4 Compaq running Windows 98 with a really annoying high pitched fan running in it 😅

Collapse
 
tardisgallifrey profile image
Dave

A Timex Sinclair 1000 in 1979. It didn't do a lot, but it got me going. Probably just a year later, we bought an Atari 600.