DEV Community

Cover image for "The Journey from a Bootcamp to a FAANG": CodeNewbie Podcast S25E2
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

"The Journey from a Bootcamp to a FAANG": CodeNewbie Podcast S25E2

In our second episode of the CodeNewbie Podcast, @saronyitbarek talks about about choosing a bootcamp, finding resume tips, and navigating career paths with confidence with Alex Lee, Frontend Engineer at Amazon.

Alex is a Frontend Engineer at Amazon based in Los Angeles. He also is a career coach dedicated to helping new and seasoned Software Developers change or advance their career.

Or, listen wherever you normally get your podcasts!


We will see you next week, happy coding

PS: Make sure to subscribe to the CodeNewbie podcast if you haven't yet + review us on your chosen platform!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
baspin94 profile image
Bianca Aspin

This is another excellent episode! As a recent Flatiron School alum, it was inspiring to hear about another alum's journey to forge a new career in tech (I didn't realize the host is an alum, too!). There's a lot of good food for thought here about how to grow as an engineer after bootcamp and as you progress in your career, prepare for interviews, and "sell" yourself in the current job market.

It's affirming to know I'm not alone in asking myself, "Did I make the right decision?" about switching to a new field, given how completely un-affirming the job search process and market are for new software engineers. Hearing Alex's story gives me hope that things will get easier once I can get my foot in the door somewhere and get on-the-job experience applying these skills I've been working non-stop to develop. I also think what he said about looking at the 'totality' of the journey is a helpful perspective: that maybe the moment you're in doesn't feel 'awesome,' but look at the trajectory you've taken and where you're headed next and that is awesome. It's a good reminder for when I'm feeling tired along my own journey to take a step back and look at the big picture.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Sounds nice. Couldnt finish it due to data restrictions on my side. I wish I could do.
And also my first time using Spotify. lol but did not register