DEV Community

Dhairya Shah
Dhairya Shah

Posted on

How I made my own text editor like VSCode

Hello World! I am back with a new article 🎉....

Today, I am going to talk about the editor which I have made 👉 tiny editor; which is very helpful to write code on web browser and many more..

So, How I made?

Libraries / Frameworks

  • React JS
  • CodeMirror
  • Monaco Editor
  • tiny-unique-id
  • FontAwesome Icons
  • react-sandbox-editor

Database (to save code and auth)

  • Cloud Firestore (Firebase)

How I made code input / editor?

  • To make the Editor / Input I have used CodeMirror Classic Editor
<ControlledEditor 
            onBeforeChange={handleChange}
            value={value}
            className="code-mirror-wrapper"
            options={{
                lineWrapping: true,
                lint: true,
                mode: language,
                theme: 'material',
                lineNumbers: true,
                autoCloseBrackets: true,
                matchBrackets: true,
                autoCloseTags: true,
                matchTags: true,
            }}
/>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • And for VSCode Editor, I have used Monaco Editor VS Code Editor
<Editor
     defaultLanguage="javascript"
     theme="vs-dark"
     value={js}
     onChange={setJs}
     className='editor'
   />
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

How output is shown

  • To show output, I have used iframe
<iframe
      srcDoc={srcDoc}
       title="output"
       sandbox="allow-forms allow-popups allow-scripts allow-same-origin allow-modals"
       frameBorder="0"
       width="100%"
       height="100%"
      />
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

How code saves / update?

  • To save the code, I have used Cloud Firestore (Firebase) which saves the code in JSON Cloud Firestore

This is how I made my own text editor like VSCODE.


I have made a video on showcasing it, so make sure to check out the video and don't forget to check out my Youtube Channel

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
bretgeek profile image
bretgeek

Hey I did something very similar to this for my site scriptjam.com :)

Collapse
 
dhairyashah profile image
Dhairya Shah

It's pretty nice! Which database are you using to save the code?

Collapse
 
limitcracker profile image
Ioannis Gyftakis • Edited

@bretgeek Hi! I would also like to make this but in addition would like to add a button to Run Test cases on the code, like Hackerrank does. Any ideas what else I need beyond the aforementioned tech stack?

Collapse
 
mfatihgul profile image
Muhammet Fatih Gul

I'm doing this right now with just html, css and js and i just show your post. Looking great!

Collapse
 
ksengine profile image
Kavindu Santhusa

This is how I did it.

I was able to create a live code typewriter (and a recorder for it) with monaco.

Collapse
 
dhairyashah profile image
Dhairya Shah

Awesome

Collapse
 
limitcracker profile image
Ioannis Gyftakis

Hi! I would also like to make this but in addition would like to add a button to Run Test cases on the code, like Hackerrank does. Any ideas what else I need beyond the aforementioned tech stack?