DEV Community

Cover image for The Great Developer Burnout Survey 2019
Daragh Byrne
Daragh Byrne

Posted on

The Great Developer Burnout Survey 2019

I'm pretty passionate about burnout. I've even done it myself a few times.

I've learned a few things along the way.

Burnout sucks. I should know, as a veteran of a couple of major ones.

Like most adverse experience, you can learn a lot from burnout if you approach it in the right way. I sure have. It’s part of the reason that I started my website - to document strategies and practices that help.

I like to write. I find it therapeutic, but it’s also a way to share super valuable information.

My current project has a working title of “The Software Developer’s Burnout Bible”. It’s going to be a resource that covers everything you need to know about recognising, preventing and recovering from burnout.

I need your help! To keep me on track, I want to hear about your burnout experiences.

It would be AMAZING if you could take a few minutes out of your day to complete this short questionnaire about burnout and how it’s shown up in your life as a developer. All results are naturally confidential.

Click here to take the survey.

Many thanks!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

You don't have an option for "no" on ever suffered burnout.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Also "Option 1" in the final question

Collapse
 
codingmindfully profile image
Daragh Byrne

Thanks! Beta fail :)

Collapse
 
pradeep_io profile image
Pradeep Sharma

@daraghbyrne can you please make the survey results public (there is an option in google form to do so)

Collapse
 
codingmindfully profile image
Daragh Byrne

I will do a summary post with what I find!

Collapse
 
perigk profile image
Periklis Gkolias

Will you share the insights?

Collapse
 
codingmindfully profile image
Daragh Byrne

I will, within the next week or two. I'll post here :)