DEV Community

Damian Demasi
Damian Demasi

Posted on

Are you planning on becoming a web developer in 2022 (or do you know someone who is)? If so, what do you need help with?

I would love to know what are the challenges aspiring developers are facing.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
intheruff profile image
Landon Sharp

I am currently a Computer Science student interested in learning web development. I have started The Odin Project in my free time so help me out and honestly I'm loving it. In the beginning it teaches you how the internet works. My first thought was "I know how it works I'm not stupid" but I was indeed stupid haha. I had never thought about it the way they taught it and it gave me a whole new perspective on development. Some concepts I didn't understand from past teachings started to click as well. Definitely look into it if you are thinking of learning.

Collapse
 
colocodes profile image
Damian Demasi

I have done some sections of The Odin Project myself. It's a very good source of information. I like how it is, basically, a collection of the best resources around certain topics.

Collapse
 
intheruff profile image
Landon Sharp

Yes! I have ADHD so reading lengthy articles bore me! The way they incorporate sources from everywhere really makes a difference. It breaks up the tediousness.

Collapse
 
mecorre1 profile image
Miguel Correa Calvo

Need some motivation and guidance ^^

I'm an IT engineer on my 30s. Currently working as a product owner with a strong team of Go developpers team. Looking at what we manage to accomplish thanks to their high quiality works inspires me. Lately I have found myself very interested in looking around our source code, cloning repos, exploting our APIs, and understanding in depth how thing work.

While at unerversity an during my early teens I dreamt about becoming a développer. Somewhere around my engineering studies I felt as I was not as good as I would like. Once coding projects went from self contained simple apps -a spelling game- to using libraries and frameworks to build more complex projects -a emailing app- I started struggling. Having to look around for how to implement simple thing in Google, trying multiple chucks of code till one worked not really knowing why, put me off. I then decided that I wasn't suited for the task and that my talents would be put to better use if I went into management. I now have a 5 year experience at leading software projects and I'm quite good at it, but I feel as its not my true calling.

Thinking of changing carrers paths and becoming a développer excites me but at the same time scares me a lot. Competition is though, the amount of knowledge needed is overwhelming, and my past experience makes me feel as I might not be up to the challenge.

Guess I should just take the leap and give it all I got ? How did you feel before changing paths ? Do you have any recommendations about how I could do a smooth transition ?

Collapse
 
gamerseo profile image
Gamerseo

Work, work and work again. You will learn everything that is most valuable in the process of working with portals. This is the best way.