DEV Community

Carlos Saltos
Carlos Saltos

Posted on

Angry developer?

Recently I was trying to understand why I'm so angry.

Angry at someone else that is not using the "wonderful" programming language I'm using.

Angry because the rest of the planet is not using the "most powerful" programming language I've just discovered.

And now I get it ...

A programing language does not exist in a vacuum ... it's part of a platform, part of a set of packages and libraries but specially is part of a community of human beings.

All the popular languages like JavaScript or Java are, by definition, popular because they are used by a lot of people, not because they are necessary the best languages.

So, it does not matter if I think other languages are a thing of the past ... my new "wonderful" programming language needs people, needs a community, needs humans to grow and succeed.

So please use Elm and Haskell, I need you humans !!

Top comments (0)