DEV Community

Treasure
Treasure

Posted on

My Hacktoberfest 2021 Journey

So this was basically my first bunch of open-source contributions, and I have to say, it was the best decision to use this event to learn more about contributions.

Progress

Hacktoberfest Dashboard
So far, the majority of my PRs are still undergoing the 14-day maintenance review check, so I still have my fingers crossed. Currently, it's 1 down, 6 more to go.

Contributions

The most basic contribution I made that I would love to highlight was adding some developer resources to Fueler's repository.

Add new resources around web development #1

Do you have resources that aren't listed in this repo?

A Podcast A Blog A tutorial A Web Page Inspirations A YouTube Channel

Add them ๐Ÿ‘‡

</div>
<div class="gh-btn-container"><a class="gh-btn" href="https://github.com/Fueler-io/Web-Development-Resources/issues/1">View on GitHub</a></div>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode




It opened the way to making more complex PRs in other repositories. It also proved that it's possible for people who are not developers to have non-technical but valuable contributions.

In a nutshell, this was how easy it was:



Besides that, I found myself contributing to projects involving UI improvements and bug fixes related to frontend development.

Reflections

Overall, the event was great. I'm thankful to all the numerous blogs and video content creators for not leaving me to fly on my own, because I'd have crashed. It's definitely something I would love to try out next year. The goal for next year's event is to make more quality PRs and also help newbies who are new to open source contributions (if I can) to get a grasp of all what it's about.

That's all for now, Adiรณs!

Top comments (0)