DEV Community

cychu42
cychu42

Posted on

Charting the Starchart

New Project

Recently, I’m participating in a project called Starchart. It’s going to be an easy way for Seneca developer community to obtain SSL certificates for their websites as they develop websites.
Unlike the usual complicated method, they simply need to fill a few boxes and click a button to get one.
This is a bran new project still in its planning stage, so there’s a lot of works to do. Because I’m interested in databases, I want to take on building that part of the project with others.

What do I do?

The tech stack we use would use Prisma to interact with a MySQL database for storing data we will be using. Because Seneca IT will handle upkeep of the database, we don’t need to worry about it. As Prisma is new to me, I have a lot of learning to do, and it should be an enlightening experience.

Since we need to keep track of certificate creation, we need a database table for information of certificates, like date pf creation. We also need some user information on a user table to store things like email. These are to help use email users when their certificates are about to expire. The table will need to be related via a foreign key. Perhaps something like user IDs. The primary key for the tables might be user IDs. We will need to discuss to hush out the detail before we build the database tables.

Another thing to figure out is how to have MySQL run in Docker container, for developers to work with during development. I think this is another thing I need to look into. I have used existing Docker setup through simple commands for other projects before, but I haven’t had any experience of setting it up myself.

What ELSE to do?

If I have the spare attention for other things, I suppose I can try to help tackle front-end of the project.
Having worked on other large scale projects’ front-end, such as HTML and CSS, makes me feel a bit more comfortable with doing so.

Top comments (0)