DEV Community

Cover image for Bun so far
Chris Bongers
Chris Bongers

Posted on • Originally published at daily-dev-tips.com

Bun so far

I must say I'm impressed with Bun. However, as expected, they are still working on many things underwater.

This means I'll put Bun on a side track for now.
I'll keep playing with it, especially once some roadmap items are released.

What works in Bun

The speed is incredible, from the basic start to the Next and React image. It's just super fast!

I also appreciate their Discord community, where everyone seems super happy to help you.

I'm also pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to set up a basic React and Next application on Bun.

So what's the catch

As mentioned, I think it's a bit early to adopt it fully. There seem to be some essential things missing for me, at least.

This includes a solid router (there are some out there, but I rather wait a bit for a stable one).
But also, from the Next starter, I hit some things that should work, including the SSR.

After asking around on Discord, this should be supported already, so I will keep trying to set it up and let you all know once I get it to work.

As for me, I will keep an eye out for upcoming Bun things and keep you posted via these articles as I try them out.

I'd love to hear if you were able to give Bun a test run and what you've built with it.

Thank you for reading, and let's connect!

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe to my email newsletter and connect on Facebook or Twitter

Top comments (0)