DEV Community

Cover image for I stopped using Visual Studio Code
Chris Bongers
Chris Bongers

Posted on • Originally published at daily-dev-tips.com

I stopped using Visual Studio Code

Not because it's bad, not at all, and to be fully honest, I use it for my blog still 🤫.

But because I started using Webstorm, a JetBrains product and love it.

Let me explain why I love this one so much. There are a couple of game-changing elements to it.

Full-power but fully customizable

I think the first time, I was overwhelmed by all the panels, menus, and actions.

However, you quickly realize they do have a use, but until you learn about that, you can remove panels to make it a super clean editor.

Example of the basic editor opening up.

WebStorm overview

All in - Out of the box

One of the great features of Visual Studio Code is that it has so many amazing plugins available to make your experience better.

When I downloaded WebStorm, I looked for amazing plugins but quickly realized you don't even need them.

It has so many great things already installed out of the box that you rarely need a plugin.

And if you do, their plugin ecosystem is also huge.

Some examples of things that work out of the box:

  • All JavaScript autocomplete and can even fix issues for you
  • Smart refactoring
  • Testing!
  • Fast file search and global search
  • Live share build-in
  • Tailwind classes autocomplete
  • Amazing themes
  • Source control included
  • and much more

If you need a plugin, check out the plugin repo on the Jetbrains website.

Search works

The cool part about WebStorm is that it has perfect search functionality.

We can search for either file and actions using the double shift search.
This is a powerful way to find files by name, actions, plugins, etc.

WebStorm search

Alternatively, we get find-in files, which can be used to find any code in your files!
Again super powerful search functionality.

Find in files

Tests

If you are writing a lot of tests, WebStorm has your back!
It provides a super robust testing flow, where you can quickly test singular test cases and even quick-view snapshots.

It's super easy to test single tests or files.
You can even quickly debug your tests in WebStorm.

Singular test in WebStorm

Code inspection

Another great option it comes with is code inspection, and this has many incredible benefits to it.

It can quickly detect any issues you might have with your ESLint rules and unused methods.

Unused functions in WebStorm

It will also tell you when you are doing things that don't make sense, like not including alt tags on images.

WebStorm auto-missing

And the list goes on of code inspection it can do to help you write robust code.

Speed

Another great thing about WebStorm is that it's simply super quick.
It runs projects without hesitation and has no issue refactoring a widely used import.

Since I started using WebStorm, it hasn't had a single issue (about three months now).

VSC was also pretty fast to me, but WebStorm feels a bit more stable. I had VSC crash on me before, especially while opening large files or refactoring widely used imported files.

Conclusion

I'm not here to tell you that you have to switch.
Just sharing why I switched and what benefits I see in WebStorm.

The obvious con is that it's a paid product compared to VSC, which is free.

Thank you for reading, and let's connect!

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe to my email newsletter and connect on Facebook or Twitter

Top comments (166)

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

Okay lol, well actually I made exactly the opposite journey - I started with a Jetbrains product, then switched to VSCode, and never looked back.

For me VSCode was a breath of fresh air, lightweight, quick to fire up, quick to create a project (well you actually don't "create a project" anymore - BIG advantage) - easy to set up, easy to learn, easy to use, etc.

Actually I have a Java background and had to use Eclipse for years, which is the most baroque and complicated IDE you can imagine (barring the horrible Apple Xcode environment, lol). Never again that, just give me an editor (which is what VSCode is, a glorified editor), the command line, and that's it.

I get it that WebStorm is more feature-rich and way more sophisticated, but I'm not using all those features - KISS, quick and simple does it for me.

Even my VSCode is rather bare-bones - I'm keeping the number of plugins to a minimum, no fancy themes or a gazillion plugins for me - it only slows me down ... the biggest "investment" I did in VSCode was to learn the keyboard shortcuts - virtually ALL of them - because it makes you SO much more productive.

Ultimately the point is that VSCode clicks with the way I work, but I completely understand that WebStorm might click with the way someone else works.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I think that's kind of key.
VSC with no plugins == fast, but once you start adding stuff it becomes so slow.

To me all those things seem to work perfectly fine in WS out of the box.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

Right, that's the point, WS is batteries included, plug 'n' play, while VSCode is more DYI ... but I have a minimal number of plugins installed, and I checked right now and I even uninstalled 4 or 5 plugins that I never use, lol.

But, you mentioned search, and I do like the full-text search in VSCode quite a lot - it's fast enough and well, it's simple, there we go again haha ;)

Thread Thread
 
mikeyglitz profile image
mikeyGlitz

The biggest selling feature for vs code for me is development containers. I think it simplifies contribution. Clone the project. Start the container. You don't have to waste time installing SDKs and plugins because they're in the container.

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Oh yeah that's a good one, and you can even run your VSCode completely "in the cloud", and access it with a thin client (browser) - because well, VSCode is of course "just" a web app (packaged with Electron) ...

Imagine that you're on holiday on a tropical island, you think of a cool little feature, you open your tablet under the shade of a palm tree, and with a few clicks you fire up your IDE and your dev containers - and bada bing bada boom there it is, you do a little bit coding, with another click you deploy it - job done, back to the swimming pool - how cool is that?

Thread Thread
 
mikeyglitz profile image
mikeyGlitz

Well I'd argue you'd still need a good CI environment for the deployment aspect. GH Actions and GitLab are pretty good for that imo, but I get what you're saying.

Collapse
 
ishanpro profile image
Ishan Tiwari

That's why I am a full time Sublime texter now with Sublime merge.

Collapse
 
mikeyglitz profile image
mikeyGlitz

I'm not sure if that's a limitation of Electron (JavaScript for desktop) that VS Code is built on

Collapse
 
kyleljohnson profile image
Kyle Johnson

Performance is a journey, not a sprint. :) Look how long it took for VS to become fast.

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

Me too :)

Collapse
 
himanshugoel profile image
Himanshu Goel

I can second that claim. Even I also used WebStorm in past, but facing issue with over-consuming of RAM memory and getting unresponsive. After moving to VS Code, it felt so much light weighted and sleek.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Sounds like a lot of people see it that way.
From what I can tell it also seems to make a difference wether it's mac/windows editions.

Collapse
 
swpalmer profile image
Scott Palmer • Edited

I’m also a Java developer that isn’t impressed with Eclipse. (I use NetBeans.). But I’ve found VSCode for Java is quite a pain. It doesn’t follow conventions and pollutes my project directory with another set of compiled classes in som bin folder or something - why??? It has trouble figuring out the classpath, so the functionality it is supposed to have is usually unavailable. Given that’s I’m doing a lot of mixed web and Java stuff these days I was hoping for a better experience. The HTLM/CSS/JS stuff in VSCode seems to work reasonably well.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

I wouldn't use VSCode for Java, I'd use Eclipse or something like that - even though I dislike Eclipse, it does work quite well for Java.

VSCode is simple and lightweight, Java is anything but - the requirements of Java are so specific, VSCode was not designed for that.

I'm not really doing Java dev anymore, but if I did I'd probably use Eclipse ... or maybe Netbeans, or alternatively a JetBrains product.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

+1 here. Ditched webstorm apart in fabour of VSCode 😅

Collapse
 
giates profile image
Gianluca Tessarolo • Edited

Java development ? Netbeans is my first choice, IntelliJ Idea the second, I've tried VS Code without success... (Java EE applications packaged as EAR with multiple modules)

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

VSCode is NOT suitable for Java development ... doesn't mean that VSCode is bad, but Java development has very specific requirements, and VSCode wasn't designed for that ... use Eclipse, use Netbeans, use IntelliJ, but don't use VSCode for Java development.

Collapse
 
hilleer profile image
Daniel Hillmann • Edited

It feels like you knew everything I wanted to write

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Haha okay, I suppose a lot of people migrating to VSCode have the same kind of experience with it :-)

Thread Thread
 
hxavs profile image
Jeremiah S • Edited

Yeah. I used to use phpstorm and webstorm. I use vscode for most of the development I do these days. Also with its api and extensive repository of community developed extensions you can really customize your experience and the tools that are available.

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Absolutely ... and it's lightweight, that's probably the biggest thing for me :)

Collapse
 
hoangviethung profile image
Roger

Easy to set up, easy to learn, easy to use, etc. Nice Bro !!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

An article I HAD to read. Wow, I started with WebStorm but then switched to VSCode for the front end and wouldn't go back. But I use IntelliJ Edu for the backend when I write Java, and I would also try PyCharm and the other products because I like JetBrains Academy.

It's so interesting what developers prefer and for what reasons. Thanks for pointing out the benefits you see.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I've probably used most IDE's out there, but for my personal needs at this time of my career WebStorm has too many advantages I haven't seen elsewhere.

(Biggest being the test I think actually)

Collapse
 
snaidamast profile image
snaidamast

I am currently using PyCharm Community Edition to bring myself up to speed with Python (I am a VB.NET\C# engineer). I love it for its feature set...

Collapse
 
rxliuli profile image
rxliuli

Another more obvious disadvantage is that it is not suitable for large monorepo repositories, such as those in a company with more than 90 sub-projects, it becomes almost unusable. Also, I'm still a paid user of jetbrains ide now, but I've completely switched to vscode for the front end.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I'm actually finding the opposite with webstorm, way more stable on larger projects from my side 🤯

Collapse
 
rxliuli profile image
rxliuli • Edited

Maybe your project is not big enough, here is a basic overview of our project information

Language                     files          blank        comment           code
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TypeScript                    1054          10239          17515          79359
Vuejs Component                275           3137           2608          41652
JavaScript                      11           2816            288          16483
HTML                             8             43              0           3245
LESS                            19            223             12           2099
GraphQL                         32             71             37           1871
JSON                            51              1              0           1433
SVG                             81              1              3            992
CSS                             15            116             11            984
SCSS                             5             19              8            186
Bourne Shell                     1             12              8             31
Markdown                         1              5              0              6
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SUM:                          1553          16683          20490         148341
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

This is the project I mainly work on github.com/dailydotdev/apps.

Surprised VSC works moire stable for you.
But happy to hear you found a good IDE that works for your setup.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

I'm all for Webstorm, especially since they upgraded it to be a full IDE - it used to not have multiple projects and all that jazz and I had to use IntelliJ - but that has a lot of Java bloat you don't need.

I find Webstorm super fast, the integrated debugger is very slick, but the "it always finds it" search anywhere is a killer feature for me. The other great features are the really powerful refactorings that mean I build much cleaner code. The multi language support for SQL, GraphQL etc with all of the intellisense means I'm rarely looking things up.

I've used VSCode a fair amount and I do like it, but it never seems to be 100% consistent for me.

The new wave of JetBrains IDEs are coming. I'm very excited to see where this takes them.

A nod to DataGrip and Rider too - really great IDEs for C#, C++ and databases. I'm a happy customer and have been for 5 or 6 years now.

Collapse
 
po0q profile image
pO0q 🦄

The "Storm suite" is amazing. It's not exactly the cheapest service, but it's totally worth it. I think you're right to switch to a more specialized IDE that fits your needs.

What I don't appreciate in VSCode is the telemetry enabled by default. It collects lots of data. Of course, you can disable tracking in the settings, but most users won't do it.

I'm not that surprised, considering it's a Microsoft product. For those who look for an alternative, there's also VS codium, which is an open-source clone.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I also used Atom before, cool product, but also started to crash almost daily 😅
For me WebStorm solves all my problems at this point in my career, so very happy with it.

Collapse
 
afternoonpm profile image
AfterNoonPM

Yeah, atom does that sometimes.
Also github decided to sunset(discontinue) it, so they're archiving the repo in december. Kinda sad, especially because I had finally found an editor I liked, but after the announcement, I switched to vscode, and it's working great!

Collapse
 
po0q profile image
pO0q 🦄

It's VS codium.

Collapse
 
renanfranca profile image
Renan Franca

Thank you! I disable telemetry 👏

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

we get find-in files, which can be used to find any code in your files!

Is there something special about this that I'm missing? I haven't use VSCode much, but I'd assume it'd have something that does this, it's pretty basic functionality available in most editors or IDEs, isn't it?

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

The search flow is very smooth, switching between file-level, folder-level and project-level search is superfast, and the feature of “search anything” is just superb. The pleasure comes with practice 😄 but it’s really hard to use anything other than WebStorm after using WebStorm.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

What would be the difference between "search anything" and "project-level"? Or do you mean that the search includes results from the editor, like the command pallette or something?

Thread Thread
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor • Edited

Yes, closer to the VS Code’s command palette but less chaotic I’d say

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Ah nothing new, it just works really well in WS
As where VSC has the same, but it's in one uniform search.

This really comes down to preference I think.

Collapse
 
modelair profile image
modelair

one of many things why i dont use vsc it's a chrome-based engine.
chrome engine and speed? lal. lightweight? omg

vsc - bullshit

Collapse
 
fjones profile image
FJones • Edited

I'm very much a JetBrains evangelist these days, too. The wealth of out-of-the-box features in all of their IDEs is excellent for someone like me who works with a bunch of different languages.
VSCode requires a lot of setup, and setting it up for everything at the same time just bogs it down massively. Meanwhile the JetBrains IDEs are all fully functional, fast, and just work.

Edit: Also, the coherency of keyboard shortcuts and the entire UX between the different IDEs vastly outperforms anything a wealth of VSC plugins would achieve. It's tailored exactly the right way.

Collapse
 
dimitrisbor profile image
DimitrisBor

Many times i come across blog posts like "40 must have plugins for VSCode" that Intellij has built in and i'm like, what the heck? I understand that it gives you the choice to customize it as you want, but if i had to switch now to VS Code i would have to search and find all the plugins i need to have the same functionality.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yeah true,

I started thinking I needed to load all kinds of plugins into WS, learning quickly it was all ready built-in.

To me VSC also get's way slower with every plugin you add-on.
Pretty sure if you would mimic WS functionality with plugins it's un-runable. (but this is just a thought)

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

I never saw the attraction of VS Code - seems like a slower, more resource intensive ripoff of SublimeText

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I mean it's a great IDE, especially the free part.
But again lots of customisations and personalisation are also a big pro.

Collapse
 
creotip profile image
Ruslan Elishaev

Funny to read this today. I’m actually switching from Intellij to vscode after 8 years of usage.

Intellij is a RAM and CPU killer. It become so slow, that sometimes it’s impossible to use it anymore.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I'm seeing this a lot and still surprised to experience the complete opposite.
Just a follow up question are you on Windows or Mac?

As I think it has a lot to do with that (from reading the comments here)
I'm on Mac and for me WS is way faster/lower on resources

Collapse
 
creotip profile image
Ruslan Elishaev

I'm on MAC:
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)
2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 4 GB

Currently working on huge monorepo with Apollo microservices and module Federated React apps, which means many instances of node running on the background.

Intellij is extremly slow to work on this stack.

Now i'm testing vscode vs WebStorm. Will update later about the results!

Thread Thread
 
creotip profile image
Ruslan Elishaev

After 2 working days, I can confirm that WebStorm is Much faster/less RAM cunsumer than IntelliJ.

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Not sure you have the right names there?

Collapse
 
mcsee profile image
Maxi Contieri • Edited

Hi @dailydevtips1 . I've been reading you posts por over 2 years.

This is exactly the point. I came to the same conclusion regarding JetBrains vs VisualStudio.
Running tests smoothly is a killer difference and you start to notice it once you have to manage a LOT of them

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yep! The test cases where the real selling point.
Actually our CTO was advocating to switch us to WS, but we never saw the need.

He showed us the singular test and snapshots ones and I immediately switched 😂

Collapse
 
2kabhishek profile image
Abhishek Keshri

I actually went from VS Code to Neovim 😆
This post inspired me to write about my journey as well

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Love it!
Let me know once you written your post, would love to read it 💖

Collapse
 
wadecodez profile image
Wade Zimmerman

JetBrains is nice but it has a heavy price tag and can be a bit of a memory hog. However, I think JetBrains have a better understanding of the code base than VSCode. A prime example is the premium Laravel IDE for JetBrains. It costs money, but it is far superior to what VSCode offers.

VSCode is still a really good editor. I use it for quickly editing files and one off projects from the command line.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

The price is the biggest pitfall I think.
I would still recommend VSC to most people especially those just starting out.

If you get your company to pay or have enough clients, storm products are worth a try.

Collapse
 
nartc profile image
Chau Tran

Price is definitely a pitfall but I wouldn't say "heavy". If a person is already working as a paid developer, I'd recommend getting WebStorm (not the All Products Pack) still as it is extremely cheap (16 cents a day for the first year -> 9 cents a day for third year onwards)

Plus, Jetbrains does have programs to offer free licenses for various categories.

VSCode is a great product. WebStorm is also a great product. However in my opinion, price should be the least of a developer's concern when compare the two.

Collapse
 
meatboy profile image
Meat Boy

After trying most of the editors and ide available on the market I can recommend jetbrain tools. Especially if you are working with different technologies. Switching between ide or using IntelliJ is seamless and powerful.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Happy to hear you have the same experience.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.