DEV Community

Dali Salvador
Dali Salvador

Posted on • Updated on

Twitter Trends Heat Map

TrendingMap

Hi there! A couple of months ago I found TrendsMap webapp and I really liked the solution or service they provide. However, the way they present the information it’s not really user-friendly, and most importantly, if you want a deeper analysis, you’ll have to pay.

I then tried to find similar webapps, and found tweeplers map (which is even worse) and others not even worth mention.

After a couple of hours searching, I decided that the opensource community deserves a better app, completely free and easy to use, so I started TrendingMap.

It consists of a very simple Node.js back-end which handles all twitterAPI requests and other simple things, and for the front-end uses React.

This is just the beginning. Whenever I have time I’ll continue to improve this (luckily with your help) and hopefully, we’ll have a useful tool to analyze twitter trends.

DEMO https://trendingmap.herokuapp.com/

The app is deployed in Heroku (free) so it might be idle, therefor it could take a couple of seconds to load.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
dalisalvador profile image
Dali Salvador

BTW... if you open the app and DON'T see any trends (just a dark map) that means that Heroku went idle and all trends need to be re-fetch again (takes ~1,5hrs).

To solve this idle issue with Heroku I've written a keepalive function in the back-end, but I don't think is working. So I'll have to store everything in a DB (probably mongo).

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim • Edited

I used to use wakemydyno.com/, which worked great.

Note that I ran out of free hours when I did it with two services.

And this post looks like it'd fit #showdev well as well.

Collapse
 
dalisalvador profile image
Dali Salvador

Hi there, thanks for the tips!

I've written a simple setInterval to ping the webApp every 5min and it seems to be working.

Cheers.

Collapse
 
jessicagarson profile image
Jessica Garson

This is so cool! Thanks for sharing.