DEV Community

DanielHGimenez
DanielHGimenez

Posted on

How I created my first open-source project.

This post is about how I decided to create and share a simple tool to type the clipboard content, resulting in the CBPK project.

Motivation

Everything started with me trying to log into my AWS EC2 machine. Every time I wanted to connect to AWS EC2 using Parsec, I had to type the entire OS password, because there isn't a way to paste over Parsec. And yes, it is a large password. Is it a boring activity? Yes! I did it every time until my patience ran off and my laziness took over.

Solution

For sure, the first thing I did was search for some solutions on Google to make my keyboard type the clipboard content. I found some scripts that weren't working, and nothing else. Then I decided to create a simple command-line application by myself.

Engineering

By coincidence, I was studying Golang at the time. I heard that's a good programming language for creating command-line applications, and the Golang course I was watching, taught me how to make a simple command-line application. Then I decided to step forward with Golang.

After a little time, I finished the first version. I'm very happy it's functional and anyone can download and use it. You can check it at GitHub clipboard-paste-keyboard.

Top comments (0)