DEV Community

Daniel Jaouen
Daniel Jaouen

Posted on

Hi!

Hello, world!

My name is Daniel Jaouen and I am a student in Lambda School's part time Data Science program. I am excited to have this opportunity to learn Data Science and I look forward to updating all of you on my progress as I progress through the course.

Our first assignment was to help get us a broad overview of the associated libraries (i.e., pandas, numpy, and matplotlib). For this assignment, I chose the following data set: https://www.kaggle.com/rush4ratio/video-game-sales-with-ratings As a long-time gamer, this data set piqued my interest. In particular, I would like to (down the road) predict a game's global sales based on user and critic ratings.

However, for now, I just cleaned up the user rating feature (by removing 'NA' and 'tbd' values from the data frame), converted the column to numeric by using pandas' to_numeric function, and then classified the data into "high", "medium", and "low" score rankings. See the image below.

classification

Even though it's still early in the course, I've already learned a lot through the first lecture as well as the precourse work. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post and I will see you next time!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rpalo profile image
Ryan Palo

Hi Daniel! Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to seeing more from you as you learn more!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Hi Daniel! Welcome to DEV!