DEV Community

Cover image for Do not apologize
Danilo Assis
Danilo Assis

Posted on • Updated on

Do not apologize

Do not apologize for working, trying to learn new things, or going after what you believe.

Apologizing in those situations is an attitude usually among juniors learner but can extend to seniors and in all the scenarios of our life.

Work
Do not make sense to apologize when you need to confirm a requisite or a feature because it's part of your job.

You're not asking for a favor, you are working, what is normally. As I said, it's part of your job and it is part of it ask for help.

If you work in a company where you need to apologize for asking for help, maybe it is time to find another place.

The best is working in a team where you feel like you are among friends, of course, not forgetting it's still a professional space.

Working with peace of mind and a good process stabilized is the best a company can offer to you.

Life
Be straight with what you need. Cut the apologies and try to be clean and straightforward.
https://dontasktoask.com/

Replace for "sorry, can I ask something?" for "Hi, I need help in X thing. I think you can help me"


Follow me on Twitter
If you like and want to support my work be my patreon
See more in https://linktr.ee/daniloab.


Photo by Steve DiMatteo on Unsplash

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
otaviosc profile image
OtavioSC

awesome post!

Collapse
 
daniloab profile image
Danilo Assis

Thanks!