DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome to Community - My Discord Server
Danilo Assis
Danilo Assis

Posted on

Welcome to Community - My Discord Server

TL;DR
Summary and tips on how it works and how to contribute to my/our discord community.

If you want access at the end of the text, I'll tell you how to get it

Welcome to Community
From now you are a step up of many. You are acquiring skin in the game and with time you will realize that it is reaching your goals faster than ever.

This blog post will help you to understand the purpose of my community1 and my public work.

I offer mentorship to help those who are going through the same steps I have gone through in the past. Also, learn together, try to make the world a better place to live, and help people who want to enter the IT world and still don't have an idea of how to learn.

Learning in public
three people talking
The first tip is to understand what is the meaning of learning in public and why we focus in use it.

Resuming, makes you learn and work in public. Why? In public you reach more people and get different feedback, your doubt or work can be the same as another person and you can merge with it different opinions and ideas.

Good content about learning in public:

Doubt
a quote symbol image
Second step: is to cut off the fear of asking or learning. Don't care about asking in public, do not apologize, and imagine that you are in a place where everyone has the same focus that you.

Channels
an airplane paper from scratch
Each channel has a focus. It 1exists to filter content and share. It is not a rule. If you want to share a nice article, ask a doubt, or whatever, choose the content that you think is related to what you want to share and share it.

Channels

  • General: matters in general
  • Tech: matters in general in the tech world, tutorials, curiosities, blog posts, documentaries, any subject on any language/area
  • Random: random issues, outside of topics, links outside of technology, etc.
  • Social: share your social networks, linkedin, github, links of lives that will come
  • Jobs: employers, related matters

Threads
thread novels
Threads help us to organize ideas and content. Try to keep your content in threads and also help others to understand why use threads.

My DM
a letter box image
I prefer that you share everything in public. Principally if is tech content. Feel free to contact me on my dm. But, most of the time I will transfer you for the "learning in public" process.

Skin in the game
a skater image
As already mentioned above in the text, skin in the game consists of you DOING. You can get it in my community and another, but, if you don't ask, don't share, don't help, you won't acquire the skin of the game.

Imagine that you want to learn to ride a bike. You can watch videos, or even watch your parent or a friend doing it. But, until you get one and try it by yourself, you won't get there.

I try to move from passive activities to an active ones. Actives it is better to save you learn. I wrote about the cone of learning exemplifying this.

Read to understand more:

Next
staircase
What else would you like to know and understand? If you still have something in mind, take advantage of all the points above and apply it publicly on discord.

Let's pay it forward!

My Discord
my avatar image
If you arent in the discord yet ping me on twitter DM asking the link to enter it.

Social
Follow me on Twitter
If you like and want to support my work be my patreon
See more in https://linktr.ee/daniloab.

Photos References
Cover Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash
Learning in Public Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash
Doubt Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash
Channels Photo by Matt Ridley on Unsplash
Threads Photo by Bozhin Karaivanov on Unsplash
My DM Photo by Kirsty TG on Unsplash
Skin the Game Photo by shawn henry on Unsplash
Next Photo by Lindsay Henwood on Unsplash

Top comments (0)