DEV Community

林子篆
林子篆

Posted on

A lightweight web framework for Go

Rocket is a little web framework because we're tired at marshaling/unmarshaling data when developing API servers. Although we already not at the old company but still keep the concept and implementing it.

I would like to know your thinking and how can we improving it. If you can take time to see the source code and that would be so great! Thanks first!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

As a general feedback I wish people make more libraries like gorilla mux and less frameworks, but from another point of view, for web API servers I use Open API/swagger and treat it like a detail of the implementation,that is auto generated, like protobuffs files.

Collapse
 
dannypsnl profile image
林子篆

That's my fault, I know a library would be better for combining them to get the output and be more general, but I feel write a router is fun and do one then base on it to develop these codes XD. We're also planning to spread code to two parts, one is a router, another is marshaling/unmarshaling, but might not right now.

Collapse
 
chenge profile image
chenge

What's the pros? target?
Docs are nice and short and easy to read.

Collapse
 
dannypsnl profile image
林子篆 • Edited

I think the target is you can say what you want in the structure definition(use struct tag) without knowing how to do that, when developing an API server, what I actually care would be data, not JSON, Query or that's a route variable. You nice point out what I missing XD.