DEV Community

Dan Steren
Dan Steren

Posted on

DOAP Day 1

First time on Dev.to here so be patient with me. I'm gonna try participating in Digital Ocean's App Platform Hackathon (Which I'll be abbreviating as DOAP from now on) and wanted to document my journey.

My Project

I think my goal for this is to build a platform for either storing/managing Architectural Decision Records or something to do with making municipal code more accessible to constituents. So I'm sitting in either the Program for the People or Built for Business category. We'll just see where we end up in the end.

Today's Work

So, Day 1... I started the evening just doing some quick reading about the platform, watching some tutorials and doing some maintenance on my Dev.to, DigitalOcean, and GitHub accounts. Of course I also applied for the $50 credit for DigitalOcean.

The main thing I learned today is that the very first step to all this is to have a repo that already has some code ready to be deployed. I'm going to go with a node backend so I think the next step is for me to either fork the Node Sample App, or to just start a new node project from scratch and hook it up to DO.

I'm going for a node + apollo-server + type-graphl backend and I happen to have repo that has most of the setup that I want. Unfortunately, it's been a year since I've touched it so it's a little the worse for wear. Additionally it is all hooked up to Postgres and I think that's more than I want at first. So, I spent the evening stripping out all DB stuff and trying to get it to build... and to no avail.

So, goal for tomorrow? Go back through the docs for all the dependencies and get it to build. Then we can actually start doing something in DO.

https://github.com/ardentink/adr-api

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

This sounds interesting and I think we have some similar app ideas. My app entry allows users to track their work accomplishments. If you get a chance I hope you'll check it out and give me your feedback. I'll be watching as your project progresses. Good luck in the #dohackathon.

Collapse
 
dansteren profile image
Dan Steren

Thanks! Yeah I think your idea is fantastic! Good luck to you as well! :)

Collapse
 
simkimsia profile image
simkimsia

(Which I'll be abbreviating as DOAP from now on)

You're not the only one :D