DEV Community

Cover image for i got 100x % increase in my side projects in just 9 months - here's how i did it
Kathan Mehta
Kathan Mehta

Posted on

i got 100x % increase in my side projects in just 9 months - here's how i did it

invest in yourself before anywhere else 💰

investing in the share market can give you returns of 12-20%, but investing in yourself can give you returns of 100% to infinite.

yes, you read it right. there are no limits.

if you are still wondering, let me share my own story.

here’s how much i am making since last few months:

  • february: $2.2k
  • march: $5.4k
  • april: $4k
  • may: $4.4k

this is a 130% increase in monthly income compared to what i was making 5 months ago

here's how i did it:

i was consistently making $2k per month before i took a 5-month vacation to india to upskill and educate myself. i made very little during that time, almost around $500 per month, which was a 300% decrease compared to what i was making before.

but now, after 5 months, i've already reached what i was making before, which is an increase of 300% (from $500 to $2k). even better, i am making almost 120% more than what i was consistently making. i've been averaging $4k per month continuously for the last 3 months.

from decreasing income on average from $2k/mo to $500/mo (by 300%), to moving back to making $2k/mo on average, to moving it to around $4k/mo (from $500 to $4k, which is a rapid increase of 700%).


investing in the share market is really good; it can give you a return of around 10-15% easily. but to gain more immediate and extremely high interest, invest in yourself.


i paid $2k for my ticket to india, which was covered by the money i made in 5 months while i was there. this means the trip to india was literally free for me.

the only loss was i couldn’t save $1k/mo for 5 months (my necessary spendings cost me only $1k/mo to survive), which i could have while living here in canada. it also meant that i lost the opportunity of saving $5k in india. but who cares? my income jumped from $2k to $4k, which is literally double what i was used to making.

my risk of not saving $5k in 5 months allowed me to invest time in myself, travel, and educate myself. because of all this, i covered $5k and saved that amount in just 1.5 months rather than in 5 months.

i learned this year to: invest in myself, take risks, and take long vacations (they're like mini-retirements).

making more money requires more education, investment in yourself, and most importantly, vacations and time with your family.

note: the numbers i am making per month are not consistent. the moment i start becoming lazy, my income stops coming in, and the number starts decreasing back to $2k.

ps- the most important lesson of the last 9 months is that you shouldn’t leave a full-time job to make your startup and wallet successful. humans do well when they are with their family and have their job. having family and a job gives security, peace, and satisfaction, which in turn allows us to perform well.

pps- i am not here to fight. i can be wrong, and you might not agree with some of the things i am saying here. FYI, these monthly numbers i shared are a combined income from my full-time job ($2k/mo) and what my side projects are making.


Bonus- here's the song i am listening to right-now, click here to check it out.

  • kathan

Top comments (0)