DEV Community

Cover image for my first startup almost failed
Kathan Mehta
Kathan Mehta

Posted on

my first startup almost failed

Note :- this post is a part of my tweet. i felt this is valuable so writing it here too. hope this helps you.

click here to check the OG tweet

i learned this very hard way 👇

reality is way too much different than what we think

when i was starting my indie hacking journey, i saw Indie Hackers like @marc_louvion, @DanKulkov, @levelsio, @MrNick_Buzz and @sveta_bay building & rapidly growing their products

after seeing them i was so sure that i can also build and do the same

soon i started building http://Reachactory.online, my million dollar idea to become rich

1 week went by, 2 weeks, 3 weeks ... literally nothing happened

i kept building and marketing like wild but still nothing was happening

almost after working for 45+ days i received my first order

it was only $100 but in real that really felt like million $$$

i worked day & night for 45+ days and made my first internet dollar

i knew first order is always hard. in my mind i always thought once i get the first order people will know me and keep ordering

but that was not true. i completed the first order and 1 week went by

still i had no-one placing the order

i made less than $500 for the first 3 months of indie hacking journey

and

almost every single day i questioned myself even if this is worth giving my time or not.

but i never gave up. and i never will tbh.

its almost a year since i started

i am still hungry to learn more, build more and ship more.

buildinpublic is not about making money. bcz money is just a byproduct

building is about providing value, automating heavy tasks and saving time.

building in public is also about showing up every day. no matter what.

in the beginning reddit suspended my 13+ accounts in just 2 weeks.

i thought about giving up because of that too.

but i wasn't able to convince myself to give up that easily.

@Reddit is just an app and an algorithm.

Image description

it cannot change my mind, switch me off and make me give up on my passion.

idk how many of you are gonna read this long but i am only posting this tweet in hopes of inspiring or motivating someone.

what you are doing is right.

following ur passion is hard but keep going. you really got this.

Top comments (0)