DEV Community

Donna Hogan
Donna Hogan

Posted on • Originally published at Medium on

Thoughts on my JS-Rails project

Completing this was kind of a big deal for me. I had been away from the curriculum for a few months. I found the courage to face this project (and the lab/lesson immediately preceding it) by starting from scratch. After completing the JS and jQuery sections in Codecademy, and faithfully following along with Gordon Zhu’s Watch & Code (which, literally changed my life!) I finally started to feel comfortable enough to start thinking in JS.

For some reason, I decided it would be a good learning experience for me to complete all the requirements for this project without jQuery, and use only vanilla JS. My AJAX functions are a little verbose, as a result, but at this stage, it helps me conceptualize what’s happening at a more granular level to have to manage things like attaching CFRS tokens to a ‘post’ request.

And, since December of 2017 (when I completed the Rails version of this project), my Twitter OmniAuth strategy broke. Their implementation became more complex since I was away, so for now I’m making due with Facebook (I resented a little bit having to sign in and get dragged down that rabbit-hole), but, it was important to get it working again for morale purposes.

Checkout the:

Originally published at donnacodes.com on August 5, 2018.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
juankortiz profile image
juankOrtiz

Congrats on going live with something you love!

Since the interface of your page is really simple, are you planning on styling it a little bit more with CSS?

Collapse
 
ddhogan profile image
Donna Hogan

Thank you!!
It's certainly a possibility! But only after improving the styling of my more recent Flatiron project, and my personal goal of 1 PR for #Hacktoberfest, another side project I have lined up with a friend, making a portfolio page, and of course, applying to remote dev jobs ;)

Collapse
 
juankortiz profile image
juankOrtiz

Wow, you are really busy then. Keep on with the hard work, it allways pays off.