DEV Community

Cover image for New to dev.to and Excited to Share ProxyConf: My Elixir-Powered API Control Plane
Andre Graf
Andre Graf

Posted on

New to dev.to and Excited to Share ProxyConf: My Elixir-Powered API Control Plane

👋 Hello, dev.to Community!

Hi everyone! My name’s Andre, and I’m excited to join dev.to and share my latest project with you all. For over 10 years, I’ve been working with BEAM-related languages, especially Erlang and Elixir, which has become my go-to technology for building reliable, and robust server backends (and also frontends using Phoenix LiveView).

🚀 Introducing ProxyConf: My Side Project

For the past few months, I’ve been working on ProxyConf, a control plane for Envoy Proxy that makes it easier to configure and manage API focused Envoys. Unlike other control plane projects, ProxyConf is built with Elixir instead of Golang, and I have to say—it’s been an exciting journey proving how well Elixir and it's functional nature fits into this space!

In my day job building and operating an API platform at Helvetia Insurances, I noticed that API management tools could benefit from more straightforward configuration solutions, especially with a focus on OpenAPI specs. That experience was the driving force behind ProxyConf.

📦 ProxyConf So Far

ProxyConf is still a work-in-progress, with some core features shaping up:

  • API Routing and Load Balancing: Simplified using OpenAPI-driven specs.
  • TLS Termination: Managing certificates directly within ProxyConf.
  • Centralized Policy Management: Designed to make configuration across multiple Envoy instances easier.

I’m still adding critical features, and the configuration API isn’t fully stable yet. That said, I’d love to hear your feedback, especially around usability and feature set.

💬 Feedback & Collaboration

If you’re interested in Elixir, Envoy Proxy, or API management in general, I’d love to connect! Any insights, feedback, or just ideas are more than welcome as I refine ProxyConf. You can reach out here or on GitHub if you’re interested in checking out the code, or even if you just have ideas for future directions.

Stay tuned, once ProxyConf is ready for prime time, I’ll make a proper announcement with more details. Until then, I look forward to learning from the community and hopefully contributing back!

Cheers,

Andre

PS: AI co-authored this article.

Top comments (0)