DEV Community

Cover image for My code curriculum
Desi
Desi

Posted on

My code curriculum

Cover image

Lately, I've been thinking a lot about what languages I want to learn and why. I want to continue growing my technical knowledge and background, but that's a really broad statement - and I can't learn it all. Spending some time considering that helped me get really clear on what attracts me about coding, which was a great exercise.

I was inspired by April at Vogue and Code, who posted her Python learning curriculum. I thought it was a really nice way to set up a reference for tutorials or articles that are extra helpful, so you can easily find them later to refer back to without them being lost in Toby or Pocket or Notion or however you track your bookmarks.

So pairing all of this together, I'm using it to inform my own curriculum for #100DaysofCode. I'm a month-ish in now, so I have an idea of how long things are taking, how long I'm able to dedicate my brain to these projects each day, etc. And my mileage may very! Maybe I'll get to mid-May and decide this is all silly and not a project I need to finish.

Check out my #100DaysofCode log here to see where I'm at, and I'd love to see your logs, or your own curricula!

Week 1: "Essmei" project and lesson on Superhi, Superhi Intro to UX Design mini-course, rebuild my favorite books with only CSS, create a random TV picker

Week 2: Continue on "Essmei" lesson, build new portfolio site, finish a random TV picker

Week 3: Wrote my first dev.to post, started Codecademy Web Foundations course, started reading Badass: Making Users Awesome, got a code review on my portfolio and made a few changes

Week 4: Started wireframe and pseudocode for a random task generator, got the rough layout done, continued Codecademy Web Foundations, finished Superhi Essmei lesson

Week 5: Built out rough beginnings of a website for a podcast, created a Mondrian-inspired Codepen, finished Codepen Web Foundations, finished Superhi week 7 lesson

Week 6: Start Superhi week 8, read more about jQuery and how I can use it to work with the random task generator, polish up podcast site

That brings us to this week! Some projects or lessons were more slow-going than I'd hoped, but turns out that being a bridesmaid takes up a good chunk of time. Over the next ten weeks, here's the plan.

Week 7: Finish Superhi week 8, set up a blog for my portfolio site, review Skillcrush Git and Github module

Week 8: Draw a wireframe for my partner's portfolio and build it out, start an Intro to Ruby course

Week 9: Build a technical documentation example with my help article rewrites/UX copy examples, complete the random task generator and launch into the wild

Week 10: Finish Intro to Ruby course, start compiling wireframe examples for a project

Week 11: Deploy aforementioned project to Github, start working on Wired recreation project

Week 12: Fix a theme/design bug at work, build a javascript Hangman game

Week 13: Start Superhi data visualization course, check out a Test Automation University course

Week 14: Superhi data visualization week 2, revisit Superhi Foundations course homework and complete it

Week 15: Superhi data visualization week 3, build a journal-type javascript app

Have you created your own learning plan?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
peachdonut profile image
Peachdonut

Hello Desi
May I ask how you found learning with Superhi was? And what do you think are the biggest difference between paid and free resources?
I've started learning recently but hold off paying (limited resources!) for the moment. But I also came across Superhi and quite like how they package their courses and wondering whether paying for a course would get me closer to what I want to learn rather than tinkering in this and that...
Thanks!