DEV Community

Cover image for 24 days, 24 little challenges
Sebastian Bains
Sebastian Bains

Posted on

24 days, 24 little challenges

Hi,

I'm Seb, a self teaching Frontend dev currently stumbling his way through Javascript and React. Never before have I publicly shared my learning journey or any of my code so Why am I writing this here, right now?
Well, for all of this month I've been pushing through Scrimba's #Javascriptmas daily challenges and to be honest, I've enjoyed every minute of it. I've loved having a fresh challenge each day to use everything I've learnt to try and solve. Not only has this convinced me of the right path for my future is something I enjoy but I can achieve it! It's definitely not just the promise of an exclusive certificate and Discord badge by sharing all of these challenges with you ... I promise.

How exactly are you learning?

The best thing about learning web development in 2020 is there's no shortage of online guides, courses or playlists to teach you all the basics for the extremely reasonable price of free.

Personally, I've chosen to walk myself through the freeCodeCamp certifications to learn these basics whilst practicing in my spare time and reading up docs on any concepts which remain fuzzy.

But what then, you know how to make a loop but how do you put in into practice?

Repeat, repeat, repeat. Nothing's worse than believing you've learnt a key concept only to draw a complete blank when starting a new problem with empty code before you.

And thanks to our friends at Scrimba they'll provide a daily HTML/ CSS/ Javascript challenges delivered right to your inbox for you to practice with. It's not the 12 days of Christmas but possibly better?

Why would you sign yourself up for this? And worse, want to share this with the world I hear you ask?

I'm still trying to figure out how exactly I got here too. All I can say is from reading numerous guides to learning any topic (and many more beyond that) the number one advice given is to share what you learn. Only by consuming and articulating what you've seen and done will you be able to cement those lessons for times to come.

The number 2 advice it turns out is to help out anyone learning alongside you, a double win! So if any of you want to chat through these daily challenges together don't be afraid to get in touch.

Without further ado, a list of the challenges completed to date:

Day 1: Candies

Day 2: Deposit Profit

Day 3: Chunky Monkey

Day 4: Century From Year

Day 5: Reverse a String

Day 6: Sort by Length

Day 7: Count Vowel Consonant

Day 8: The Rolling Dice

Day 9: Sum Odd Fibonacci Numbers

Day 10: Adjacent Elements Product

Day 11: Avoid Obstacles

Day 12: Valid Time

Day 13: Extract Each Kth

Day 14: Maximal Adjacent Difference

Day 15: Carousel

Day 16: Insert Dashes

Day 17: Different Symbols Naive

Day 18: Previous Less Array

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
perborgen profile image
Per

Great post, Seb! Totally agree with you: the best way to solidify your learning is by articulating it. Keep up the great work 👏