DEV Community

dongsu
dongsu

Posted on

Earth Day Frontend Challenge landing page: Hugging Earth

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.04.17, Glam Up My Markup: Earth Day Celebration Landing Page

What I Built

I created an interactive website featuring fun scroll events and simple fade animations.

I used Figma to draw the Earth and people, and the website's colors are inspired by the colors of the Earth.

I aimed for a design that is simple yet visually appealing and effectively communicates the message!

Demo

main

It does not work well on mobile
https://dev-dong-su.github.io/Dev-to-FE-challenge-Earth-Day/

You can see source code here
https://github.com/dev-dong-su/Dev-to-FE-challenge-Earth-Day

Journey

I implemented a section where a person flies in and hugs the Earth using scroll events and element positioning.

human
hug

However, it was challenging because it behaved differently depending on the browser's height.

Although the outcome was a bit different from what I initially envisioned, I still had fun and found it satisfying after several hours of work.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ngdangtu profile image
Đăng Tú

Impressive. I like the idea badly. However, you should add an indicator to tell your visitors scroll down. When I first visit I didn't see anything worth so I leave in a mere second. Luckily I come back and read your article. That is the only elephant in the room. The rest is so good that you make me envious you.

Collapse
 
devdongsu profile image
dongsu

That's a great idea, thank you! I've added the indicator right away.👍

Collapse
 
italocanturil profile image
Italo Canturil

I think to be clear is really good add an indicator

Collapse
 
salika_dave profile image
Salika Dave

Congrats on the win! 🙌😄

Collapse
 
devdongsu profile image
dongsu

Thank you!😊

Collapse
 
srishsrishsrishti profile image
Srishti

Your demo isn't visible. 404 error!

Collapse
 
devdongsu profile image
dongsu

omg thank you!!

Collapse
 
srishsrishsrishti profile image
Srishti • Edited

Landing page looks amazing! The design, the font, the colors, how you have placed content, the scroll feature.. everything Iooks good!

You might want to consider adding some accessibility attributes because I guess that's one of the judging criteria! All the best!

Thread Thread
 
devdongsu profile image
dongsu

Thank you for the great feedback.😁
I will make sure to consider accessibility more carefully as you suggested!

Collapse
 
jorgedelcampo profile image
Jorge del Campo

Very funny and fresh result. Congrats!

Collapse
 
devdongsu profile image
dongsu

Thank you!