DEV Community

Cover image for What advice would I give for beginners in software development?
DevPool
DevPool

Posted on

What advice would I give for beginners in software development?

1. Learn by repeating it:
From the very beginning, I kept on redoing the work over and over again. Till I could explain it to others in a way they could understand. The reason why, it's because, by the time I get to the very end of a book, I would forget how functions or simple how loops work. That did happen to me at first, I was not able to recall the knowledge. So I had to go back and reread the topic again. Use your time wisely and don't rush yourself. Keep covering the same topic multiple times till you get sick of it and reuse it in your next topic.

2. Successful developers learned their fundamentals:
I have worked with a number of professionals and to this day, I still encounter developers that make mistakes because of not having a good understanding of fundamentals. I strongly encourage beginners from the very beginning, try to spend as much time as you need to understand the foundation as it will help you in the long term of your career.

3. Practice by doing walkthroughs:
The idea behind walkthroughs is for you to read some piece of code and identify the exacted output. Repeating this process weekly will help you to speed up your learning curve plus it will pinpoint what you still need to work on. For this part, I would recommend printing walkthroughs on a piece of paper and write the new value for each variable. If you get the same result as it was expected, that means you have mastered the material and you should proceed to the next material.

These are my top 3 advice for new beginners in software development. This is something I was doing it and it helped me to become a software developer much faster with much fewer knowledge gaps. I hope this can help you to speed up your learning process or it gives you an idea of what you could do instead.

Subscribe to my youtube channel DevPool as my goal is to help beginners and juniors to succeed in the tech industry.

YouTube - DevPool

Top comments (1)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.