DEV Community

Cover image for Do People Even Get Bored Anymore?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Do People Even Get Bored Anymore?

What are your go-to activities when you find yourself with idle time and nothing specific to do? Share your favorite boredom-busting strategies.


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

I replaced gaming and social media with Duolingo, but I also need to occasionally get "bored" in a positive, inspiring way. If that doesn't happen by chance, it helps to turn off my phone and walk outdoors.

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

I try to stay away from mindlessly scrolling as much as possible, although I still find myself doing it occasionally. Being bored is an important part of creative development, unfortunately, most (myself included) rarely are these days.

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

Before the pandemic, I had a rule that every week I had to find a new place to eat via Google Maps and go there. This allowed me to discover new flavors, ideas, and cool places along the way.

Since 2023 things have changed and I'm more paranoic selective with the places I go, but I try to at least stay motivated walking around the neighborhood, getting new books/comics/mangas to read, or finding new musics to stay hyper-focused on

Collapse
 
kowston profile image
Kerry Owston

I build a house in Sims 4 that no one will ever live in.

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Agreed with some folks below— I think boredom is important!!!!

When I am bored I like to pick something new to do (see a new park, new place to walk around, etc. etc.) or take my dog for a little hike. I find for myself boredom = need to go touch grass.

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour • Edited

Related to @lnahrf 's comment, I was thinking mindless scrolling in relation to boredom-busting, isn't also boredom-boosting? For example, you take a break or you need to increase the dopamine activity, then you go to social media platforms which are the nest of media like photos, (short) videos and so on could result in not discovering something that you genuinely LIKE and continuing scroll instills boredom, imo. And 💥 this is boredom-boosting, the "evil" cousin of boredom-busting

Collapse
 
grimkillingbeck profile image
GrimKillingbeck

I find myself scrolling way too much on my phone. I think what I'll start doing is reading more because I've noticed over the years that my attention span has dropped significantly. To mitigate that, I have turned my phone settings to gray scale to make it less appealing, but I still find myself listening to youtube videos instead of finding something productive to do lol

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I usually just study or code when i'm bored

Collapse
 
grimkillingbeck profile image
GrimKillingbeck

This is where I want to be. I automatically grab my phone, but I'm doing my best to change that to picking up a book or code.

Collapse
 
arndom profile image
Nabil Alamin

When there's time to kill I usually read manhwa(Korean comics) or watch a show

Collapse
 
michaelstamps profile image
Michael Stamps

When I'm bored, I either code, think about coding, or learn more coding. Code is life, life is code.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Sudoku and podcast are my go to option when I am bored...

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Yeah, good question. In my moments of boredom I like to do some basic things, such as:

  • Play games, Duolingo, watch videos and also look for new and interesting beers (I like trying beers from different places and have a collection of beer caps 😅).
Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

I used to get so incredible bored in my childhood growing up isolated from other people apart from family, neighbours (with no children my age to play with) and staff. I decided at the age of 5 to never get bored ever again so I keep myself busy with something and therefore, I rarely get bored. Boredom is a luxury, and I only allow myself to get bored once a year. I always find something to do and nowadays with the internet which gives us access to so much information, so much to learn and different things to do, how can anybody ever get bored?

Collapse
 
jimtryon profile image
Jim Tryon

I have been playing Monopoly Go and watching cooking shows and exploring the Backrooms.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Maaaaaan, what kind ov question is this?
Ov course they do.

YouTube, Bluesky, DeviantArt, Reddit, and doing programming, can only keep me distracted for so long.