DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.

Earth Day is far from the only to celebrate taking care of the planet and educating ourselves on how to be better digital stewards. @bezpowell thanks for the fantastic resource!

The Website Carbon Calculator is well worth looking at if you are interested in your website's environmental impact. The web uses a huge amount of resources, and if we all optimised our sites a little to reduce carbon emissions it would make a big impact.

You can absolutely count on community support here, @mdotcoder! Welcome again!

Hi everyone. I am just starting my coding journey. I want to learn Front and Back end web development as well as Python. My first mission right now is learning JavaScript. I'm self-learning and sometimes it has been a pain, but I'm determined. I will write codes! Counting on community support.

The first year of coding can be full of excitement β€” and challenges. The kind of support that @thebarefootdev showed here is what keeps DEV friendly and welcoming πŸ’ͺ

Comment Not Found

Thanks @qwby for the tip on How to Fix a Bad Commit! Keep up the good work!

Those are some great tips! I always loved this site called β€žOh Sh*t, gitβ€œ because it has a pretty elaborative list of what can go wrong and how to fix it: ohshitgit.com/

This post on React.Fragment is worth checking out. Thanks for the awesome comment, @pracoon ! We couldn't agree more.

I wish one day I'd be able to express my, points in such linear and organized way!
Good read! definitely scales me up!

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Not taking anything away from the commenters but how are some of these "top comments".

"This is a fantastic article. It’s collected and insightful and very well written.
Well done and. Good luck in your second year."

What does that add really, great comment for encouraging the author but a top comment?

"I wish one day I'd be able to express my, points in such linear and organized way!
Good read! definitely scales me up!"

Yet again, lovely comment to the author but I don't understand what makes that a top comment?

I know it isn't based on number of hearts (which would at least be a logical starting place), so what is it that makes a top comment?

I guess we should all just start spamming "super article, you are amazing, love to all people, save the planet..." then at least we can get a top comment too!

I mean @thebarefootdev wrote a way more interesting comment, but it could possibly be construed as critical so we can't have that.

Comment Not Found

Anyway rant over, I am off to practice my niceties now so I can get on this list one day!

ps sorry once again to the comment authors, I do not want to detract from you, it is the way these lists are compiled that baffles / annoys me.

Collapse
 
pracoon profile image
Prasham Ashesh

To be honest, I have the same question Like why me and why this comment is in the top 5? πŸ˜…πŸ˜…
The best answer I could come up with is, given the fact that the Top 5 comments of the week are awarded every week, Dev Team is gently incentivizing member engagement in the community, to keep up the community spirit. 😊
And I wouldn't expect anything otherwise from these amazing peeps. dev.to at the end of the day is a Dev community, and a quick Google Search says it all.
dev.to has the title Dev community
These comments simply happened to be the ones that got attention from the Dev team, and were judged from a community lens, and not so much from the techy standpoint.

Disclosure: I am the guy who commented

"I wish one day I'd be able to express my, points in such linear and organized way!
Good read! definitely scales me up!"

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

And as I said I do not want to take away from your comment at all.

The problem is that if I am new to DEV.to and I see those are the top 5 comments I might think that there isn’t much going on here.

While I agree with the principle of what you say about encouraging niceness and community spirit (which is what I also love about DEV.to) the problem is that this incentivises people to just be β€œnicey nice” and not challenge people. While we all know that some of the best lessons are in the comments.

Maybe I was having a bad day or something, it just seemed a bit too sugar coated and I guess I don’t have a sweet tooth! 😜

Thread Thread
 
pracoon profile image
Prasham Ashesh

Hehe, don't worry πŸ˜„πŸ˜„
"No good deed goes unrewarded."

Be yourself and challenge the guts out, being respectful all the time of course. Appreciation would surely be showered by the community.

Its not the badges that matter at the end of the day, it is the human lives that one gets to touch. Sweet tooth, certainly helps! 😊😊

Collapse
 
qwby profile image
Dominik Halfkann

Wow, I’ve just joined a few days ago and to see I’ve been chosen as one of the 5 best comments by the DEV team (on my 30th birthday of all days) is such a nice surprise ❀️
The DEV community seems like a really awesome place to learn from each other and I hope to contribute more in the future!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Thanks again for these comments, @bezpowell , @mdotcoder , @thebarefootdev , @qwby , & @pracoon !

Collapse
 
pracoon profile image
Prasham Ashesh

Omg! I didn't realize it was a thing. Wow!! Thanks a lot πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ