DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v121

Pug salute

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (149)

Collapse
 
mdotcoder profile image
mdotcoder

Hi everyone. I am just starting my coding journey. I want to learn Front and Back end web development as well as Python. My first mission right now is learning JavaScript. I'm self-learning and sometimes it has been a pain, but I'm determined. I will write codes! Counting on community support.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
๐Ÿšฉ Atul Prajapati ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ

Cool coder๐Ÿ™, I also know basics of JavaScript and planned a list of things to learn in JavaScript to be a pro JavaScript developer.

Collapse
 
mdotcoder profile image
mdotcoder

It appears our paths perfectly align, I will be on this journey with you.

Thread Thread
 
atulcodex profile image
๐Ÿšฉ Atul Prajapati ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ

Yes sure โ˜บ๏ธ

Collapse
 
voltagex007 profile image
Lord Victor

Looks like you are doing good as same as me

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Just wanted to say welcome to everyone new and not-so-new to DEV. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Hope y'all enjoy it here!

If you're wondering how to get started with posting a post, then consider checking out this article here.

If you're wondering anything else, don't hesitate to reach out and ask. ๐Ÿ˜€

Collapse
 
tina_atbraintrust profile image
Tina

Thanks for sharing!:)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No problem!

Collapse
 
palbcn profile image
PA.

Hola dev.to !

This is Pere from Barcelona, a senior hobbyist programmer.

Long long time ago, I began programming in assembler and BASIC for z80 processors. Soon the IBM PC was born; with its IBM Macro Assembler and Turbo Pascal. I then moved on to Windows, using C, Borland Delphi, SQL and REXX. Few years later, the brave world of Web; and java and javascript were everywhere; and I found myself in the the joyful PHP and Python playgrounds. And today I am still enthusiasticly having fun with my nodejs backends and react frontends.

So here I am, glad to be here. To have fun, and to learn, and maybe to share some of my experience.

Collapse
 
beitist profile image
Sebastian Stรผwe

Lovely story, Pere!

I still have a z80 flying around - my father's first computer... :-) when was the last time you touched one?

All the best,
Sebastian.

Collapse
 
mathewd profile image
Mat Donley

Hey guys, I was brought here by repeatedly hearing the words 'post on dev' and decided that this was probably a good place to be.

I am a beginner developer, learning mainly Javascript, React, Node.js.

I'm looking forward to becoming competent enough in code to help others learn and thrive in the fast developing programming world.

Collapse
 
pyforever profile image
pyforever • Edited

Hi everybody! I'm from Rome, Italy and landed here because of my everlasting wish to improve knowledge about what I know and learn some of the many topics I don't know yet. If I can help anyone to solve some doubt I'll be happy. Since starting my career I believe that only knowledge sharing can lead to real progress for everyone. I studied many languages of the past (assembly of some micros, Basic, Pascal, COBOL, ...) and some now pervasive (C, Python, MicroPython) and built applications with many of them. I attended some M.l. and D.L. Coursera courses but never built anything "intelligent" yet! Now working in IoT embedded systems developing device to monitor and control energy consumption (and hopefully optimising its use!). Enthusiast of electronic music, 3D printing, A.I. and other topics. Feel free to get in touch for comments or anything, I'll try to answer everyone.

Collapse
 
roynyaga profile image
Roy

Hello devs, my name Roy Andre, I am a Ruby on Rails Full-stack developer and I love challenges. I have been using Ruby and Javascript for some years now and I just started to learn React-Native to add on to my tech stack and that is how I got here. I am so excited to join developers from different parts of the world and different backgrounds. It's my pleasure to be here.

Collapse
 
dynamicd6 profile image
Dylan

Hi everyone! My name is Dylan from New York. I graduated from undergrad last year with a major in computer science, where I spent most of my time coding in C++. I came into the major a bit late during my time there and feel like I lack a lot of practical experience as I didn't have the chance to get any internships. However, over quarantine I have been trying to teach myself some new skills such as webdev, and other languages like Java through courses on Udemy. Over the past year I've been struggling to get my foot into the door jobwise and found dev.to on Twitter and became interested in the community. I look forward to connecting with cool people here!

Collapse
 
manuelsaezcarmona profile image
Manuel Saez Carmona

Hi, mi name is Manu , maker of solutions .
Hola mi nombre es Manu, creador de Soluciones. Desarrollador y financiero siendo la programaciรณn mi pasiรณn. Me encanta construir aplicaciones web que faciliten la vida a los demas. Toco un poco de todo Javascript, Node, DAX, powerQuery y aquellas tecnologias que me hagan falta para llegar a la soluciรณn. ยกยก Un Abrazo a todos !!

Collapse
 
kevinjenscox profile image
Kevin Jens Cox

๐Ÿ‘‹

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Hola, un saludo Manuel.

Collapse
 
sharpedgewv profile image
Charlotte

Hola Manuel!

Collapse
 
manuelsaezcarmona profile image
Manuel Saez Carmona

Hola Charlotte , un placer Saludarte !!!

Collapse
 
codinghusi profile image
Gerrit Weiermann

Hey, I'm Gerrit, from Germany and very excited to be here :)
I started programming with eleven and so I got nine years of experience with it :D
...hardly used my skill for any real world problem.
I did actually search for a dev community not a long time ago and now I found you, I guess dev.to seems to be a very nice one :)

My current learnings: rust, react and dgraph
My current project: a compiler generator in rust :D

Have a nice day ๐Ÿ˜Š

Collapse
 
dangom profile image
Dan Gom

Welcome aboard Gerrit! You seem to be on your way to doing great things :)

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
๐Ÿšฉ Atul Prajapati ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ

Nice to know about you and your profession ๐Ÿ‘‹

Collapse
 
abrarshahriar profile image
Abrar Shahriar Adib

Hi people,
I am a high-school student and a learning full-stack developer.

I started learning web development as a hobby and to increase my skill-set. Soon I got hooked and now web development is my one and only true passion!!

Collapse
 
kinnearjc profile image
Joey K

Awesome! Keep it up!

Collapse
 
kylefontenot profile image
KyleFontenot

Hi everyone, I'm Kyle I just graduated from university as I am blossoming into my real WebDev knowledge. I love React development, using the Gatsby framework, and talking about workflows and deployment. I'm an absolute newbie, and a total sponge. I feel that my self-learning has gone leaps and bounds further than what my formal education has given, and I know that the community that I am currently lacking will be the biggest catalyst for me, so I am excited to be here!
Say hi!

Collapse
 
sandesh3 profile image
Sandesh Goli

Hello, Dev community! I am Sandesh.
I saw a post named "Windows 10 Grid Hover Effect using HTML, CSS, and JS." I loved that post and liked to join this community. I am currently an undergraduate student just started Java, Web Development, and Python.
I hope dev.to will make me learn many new things.

Collapse
 
jashgopani profile image
Jash Gopani • Edited

This post just made my day @sandesh3 ๐Ÿ˜Š. I am so happy that my first post has such great impact and has got great support from this community โค๏ธ
This really means a lot๐Ÿ˜Œ
Dev community rocks๐ŸคŸ๐ŸคŸ

Collapse
 
solegaray profile image
Sole Garay

Hello everyone!!!
I'm Sole, part of the Matching team here at Arc (arc.dev).
We are a huge platform for remote jobs, we have freelance gigs, contract-to-hire and permanent (full-time) roles.

We have a lot of openings! If anyone would like to join the Arc community and get a great next challenge, contact me! (anyway, we will be posting jobs in the jobs listings soon).

Nice to meet you all!!

Collapse
 
griever_0 profile image
Lorenzo Villalobos

I am a developer.

I thought my life was going to pan out differently. That I would be in an office somewhere working in a traditional setting. But alas the stars were not in place and that vision never panned out. Instead, what I found myself in is a highly competitive and thrilling field where changes occur at the drop of a hat and code speaks louder than words. Where the glow of the monitor brings me absolute joy and satisfaction.

I enjoy development because it's one of the few fields that doesnโ€™t discriminate. Your code either runs or it doesnโ€™t and if it runs that's a huge plus! No amount of fast talk and convincing can hide that fact. I feel good knowing that I can convey my skill as an employee through speech and action. I tend to be considered a go-getter by my peers. I tend to propel myself in the direction of what I need without direction.

My specialties include quickly picking up new skills, problem-solving, responsive design, website optimization, SEO, along with a slew of development chops to match (HTML, CSS, C#, JS, Python, Node, PHP to name a few). I am always enthusiastic about learning new languages and donโ€™t shy from doing my part to become production-ready on a foreign stack on my own time & dime.

My passions include long conversations over topics that are foreign to me. Investigating ways of filling gaps in my skill set, listening to people, and being there for those in need. I also lack the ego that sometimes is afforded to those at my rank. I like for everyone to learn, grow and prosper. You should reach out to me if you are looking for someone who is technically savvy, motivated, and resourceful.

tldr "I program and I have a cat"

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Welcome aboard Lorenzo! Sounds like you're on your way to doing great things ๐Ÿ‘

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.