DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.

Having a lot of unfinished projects floating around can seem daunting, but this is a great outlook and work ethic to have, @zedvas!

I usually have 2-3 going simultaneously. I read a great tip once that said when you get stuck/bored of one project, you can then "procrastinate" by working on the other. That helps keep my mind fresh and inspired for when I go back to the original project.

Being a developer is not an easy path, and imposter syndrome gets the better of us sometimes. @hseritt has an awesome mindset - thanks for the boost!

Comment Not Found

These are some really great wins, @devlorenz0 ! And following DevNews is 100% a win 😃

Finally I have time to participate!

  • 1. One of my articles reached the TOP of the week for the second time in a row
  • 2. I wrote my first paid article!
  • 3. I discovered that React can be really fun

PS: I also followed DevNews, if that count as a win

It's Bug Smash time! Good job on the find, @thomasbnt 😂! Have fun fixing the bugs we've outlined in our repo for Bug Smash, everyone!

And here it is! I found a bug in the matrix 😆

This post on journeying into coding in Nigeria is a fantastic, necessary read for any developer. Thanks for helping create a great community with this comment, @dammyreginal.

Once I finished reading this, I connected to it immediately. Thanks for putting this out. All we hear every other day is success stories of developers, no one talks about their struggles. Even family members feel you're wasting your time. They whine as if its their time you're using. Sometimes their encouragement is merely borne out of pity. For buffing software Developers its really crazy. Especially in a third world country like Nigeria. All the factors mentioned above us very true. However, to add a little to it is the fact that most job out there request for senior devs. Very little if any request for junior Developers, which would have been a fine way of growing their career. Me I'm open for any opportunity that comes my way. So if you know of any, please hit me up. I never studied computer science. However, my love for IT and curiosity led me to be here right now. Started into IT with learning networking(Cisco). Then i learnt front end web designing from Shaw academy. That was back in 2016. I have taught this for a while. Then just some 4 months back I dived into backend using nodejs and I'm reallly loving the journey. I would state again that if there's opportunity for junior devs, I'd be ready to take the plunge. I need the experience as my present job has nothing to do with IT(I teach).
Once again thanks @opeyemi stephen for the write up. That was really bold of you.

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Owww thanks!

Collapse
 
afif profile image
Temani Afif

it's seems you picked the wrong user, it's dev.to/devlorenzo (probably the same user)

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo • Edited

Hi @graciegregory , thanks a lot. As @afif rightly said, the badge and tag were given to the wrong person: @devlorenz0 . When instead I should receive it: @devlorenzo .
Sorry, I thought I deleted that account, I do that now.