DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

It's almost the weekend!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Happy Friday!

Pokemon Relax

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

My repository started receiving PRs and after doing code review I am learning new perspectives😃

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

Can relate, reviewing contributions has been pretty insightful.
I hope it's only the beginning.

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Yes especially it's fun to see optimized code which you haven't thought of, and from next time, you can also write such beautiful code 😃

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

My project got 15+ hacktoberfest contributions and it's only October 9th!

Collapse
 
sixpaths profile image
sixpaths

I manage Atlassian apps for my company and we faced an issue with emails for a month which was a known bug on Atlassian without a resolution. I did some digging and figured out Atlassian's internal api and fixed the issue

Collapse
 
burdettelamar profile image
Burdette Lamar • Edited

The revisions I've made during the last year to Ruby documentation have now been released in Ruby 2.7.2. Includes enhancements to docs for Hash, Array, ENV. I'll be linking to the doc pages in separate posts (Hash already posted).

Collapse
 
fossheim profile image
Sarah

Started at my new job and immediately got the tech lead role on an exciting project 🤩

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

Today I've officially launched my first online class: Your $10k Resume

I wrote about the imposter syndrome I've been feeling cooking this up the past week or two, but I got it out there.

I decided to go for it after I did a listing here on dev.to and on twitter looking for 5 people who wanted a 1-hour resume consultation. I got 4 people to sign up in 24 hours. At the end I asked them to pay what they wanted for it, and they did!

I treated that as an indication this is worth more of my time.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

I successfully got my first ever Discord bot working. It’s not quite at the point of publishing the code yet (though I plan to do so), but it’s connecting to Discord and the commands that I’ve actually implemented so far are working correctly. Just in time too, because it’s going to be actively used tomorrow evening.

Additionally, I learned how to enter arbitrary Unicode characters in insert mode in vim without depending on the OS to provide a way to enter them through an IME (for those who don’t know, it’s CtrlV in insert mode, followed by uXXXX where XXXX is the codepoint for the desired character in hexadecimal).

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor • Edited

I'm starting learning (and teaching 😄) clarinet 🍾.
I also merged some PRs in my projects, some of them where actually of very good quality!

I also managed to not fix things myself (well, I pushed a minor fix to make my swig fork work, but that's all), which is a win.

Overall, this was very good.

Collapse
 
ravenwills profile image
Raven

I just published my first ever blog post about my struggle with Imposter Syndrome. Starting the work to better myself 😁

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

I bought a nice camera and started learning more about photography 😄

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt

I finished #100DaysOfCode this last week, so that felt pretty awesome.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee • Edited

Things are starting to fall into place with founders of a few other startups, with the vision (my own and convincing them) of how my sweat equity can pay off by bringing them loosely under my own umbrella for cross-promotion and -pollination.

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Had my 4th Hacktoberfest PR approved. First time completing the challenge. PR #1 was done last week. PR #2 & #3 were done over the weekend and approved during the week.
Also updated a side project. waiting for some info so I can update it more.

Collapse
 
chethanagopinath profile image
Chethana Gopinath

I got selected as a RubyConf2020 scholar :')

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

I passed the first interview and will be pair programming in a few weeks in the next step.