DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Ben Halpern Subscriber for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Participating in the Hacktoberfest Writing Challenge πŸ˜‰
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Going to the dentist before eating Halloween candy

rejoicing teeth

Happy Friday!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
arindam_1729 profile image
Arindam Majumder

Published Three Articles and 2 got trending πŸ”₯

  1. Next.js x Cal.com Integration
  2. Tools You Need to Build Your First SaaS
  3. 9 Interesting Open Source Projects

And I'm working on 2-3 more. Super excited to publish them.

Also, joined Dev++

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Big wins

Collapse
 
lexplt profile image
Alexandre Plt

Cleaned up a lot of code, bumping coverage to 76% on my language, arkscript and improving performances again through compiler optimizations!

Hopefully this year I’ll start working on the new import system, I’m starting to have a clear idea of what I need and what I want.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Epic, what was your process like?

Collapse
 
lexplt profile image
Alexandre Plt

I’ve setup code coverage, so that I can track untested lines and see what kind of tests I need to add, that saved a lot of time!

As for the optimization I compile a bunch of ArkScript code and look at the resulting IR, to see which instructions commonly go together and could be grouped as a super instruction. Then I benchmark first the script that uses those instructions pairs, write a quick and dirty optimization (new instruction code gen and VM code) and bench again. That provides a baseline to see if the optim is worth it and I clean up the code, add tests, and check regularly that perf do not regress!

Bumping coverage takes time too, luckily I have a big test suite that process ArkScript code and execute one or more compiler pass and checks its output. I have a bunch of source/expected pairs of files for that, also testing compiler errors to ensure we still detect those (you hate regressions in this field more than in any other).

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown

Continued on my re-entering the micro-controller/electronics world:

  • Identified several ICs floating in my tool box
  • Used one such 74x14 (hex inverter) IC to REVERSE THE POLARITY! of the serial idle (low <> high) to allow an Arduino to talk serial to a picaxe controlled OLED display.
  • Used newly soldered ISP header on an old LarsonScanner project to:

    • dump the existing ATTyiny program (as a backup)
    • load the latest version of the code (freshly complied) from the project page for new features
  • Spectacularly ADHD'd my Halloween costume in that I'm supposed to have it ready for tonight... and have NOTHING! (because I was fiddling with micro-controllers instead!)

Collapse
 
markwragg profile image
Mark Wragg

I also published three articles this week, and got none of them trending πŸ˜‚

  1. Redirect Out-File to TestDrive: in your PowerShell Pester test scripts with this one weird trick
  2. How to remove null or empty string values from a list in Terraform
  3. Two ways to use Pester to Mock objects with strongly typed parameters

I joined dev.to 7 years ago, but decided this week it would be a good place to create some shorter form content to document and share anything interesting I worked on in the last week (so hoping to continue to find at least something to post once a week!).

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Posted for the second month in a row, which is not a lot but it's weird that it happened twice (to quote a certain evil professor)!

Collapse
 
jagedn profile image
Jorge

Deployed my first azure function + cosmosdb to ingest thousands of invoices
Not a big fan of m$oft but was fun