DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks!

Just to note that I've taken up the ritual of posting this Friday series that the awesome @graciegregory was previously regularly sharing. I'll be following the same format and am looking forward to seeing what y'all have been up to! 🙌

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Eating a delicious meal 😋

Hope y'all have nice relaxing weekends!

It's a loop of a sloth playing a banjo. The sloth is actually scratching itself but the banjo is superimposed into the picture to make it look like the sloth is playing it.

Top comments (36)

Collapse
 
monicafidalgo profile image
The Coding Mermaid 🧜‍♀️

I prepared for my first solo conference talk, which will be on September 13 cfe.dev/events/frontend-foxes-day-... 🎉🎉🎉

For me, this is a huge step since it's part of my goal to start joining more conferences and being able to join this one, in a project that I love,@frontendfoxes 🦊 it's just amazing!

Collapse
 
ladam0203 profile image
Ádám Lőrincz • Edited

I have made a discord bot and server that will be used by our academy's tutors and students, in order to make getting help easier :D It's a ticket system with extras, written from scratch and ran on my Raspberry Pi. One of my first small projects that is actually used in a real-world scenario.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Raspberry Pi always useful for small projects 💪🏼

Collapse
 
ladam0203 profile image
Ádám Lőrincz

Exactly, it's a must have for every techie!

Collapse
 
seek4samurai profile image
Gourav Singh Rawat

Two wins: Maybe about to get an Internship offer from a very reputed company 🤩
And also made my Redis Hackathon Submission 😍
😇😇😇

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

That's wonderful 👏👏👏

Congratulations 🎉 gaurav 🎈

Keep growing 🏁

Collapse
 
seek4samurai profile image
Gourav Singh Rawat

Thanks :)

Collapse
 
perssondennis profile image
Dennis Persson • Edited

Could actually write multiple things, but in the end, what matters is how it makes me feel.

By rating the mood each day for 4 years in an app I can see on paper that the past two weeks has been unusual good. That's my win :)

Collapse
 
miguelmj profile image
MiguelMJ

I returned from vacation! The win is accepting it like a champ 😂
This month my online activity dropped to zero, but now I want to retake it, write posts, answer questions in SO, update on GitHub projects, etc

Collapse
 
kevincp17 profile image
kevincp17 • Edited

I have 2 wins this week, which are:

  1. I have finished my full stack NodeJS bootcamp with successful final presentation
    on my landing page and CRUD mockup, and about to receive a placement this
    month as a full stack software developer.

  2. I almost finished my navigation bar on my project about popular FAQ site which is
    Quora, this is already a win for me, because I learned a lot while working on this
    project. If you don't know about Quora, you can search quora.com/

Collapse
 
wadecodez profile image
Wade Zimmerman

Biggest win was definitely bundling a Rust app and getting it to run on iOS. Now I'll never have to touch Swift or Obj-C again. Wrote a little thing on it too

Collapse
 
hanstognon profile image
HansTognon

Great, can you please share the link to the article here, I would be really interested in experimenting such thing 😅

Collapse
 
wadecodez profile image
Wade Zimmerman
Collapse
 
balastrong profile image
Leonardo Montini

One of my readers here on dev.to started contributing on one of my Open Source projects on GitHub.

I see it as a double win, so happy about that!

Collapse
 
stsmuniz profile image
Salustiano Muniz • Edited

I did my personal website stsmuniz.tech

And used the dev.to api to fill it with data from my profile and from my published posts

Also, I shared the process on a blogpost:

Collapse
 
devpaps profile image
Lars Jönsson

I started to learn Rust. 🙂

Collapse
 
shweta profile image
Shweta Kale

I started learning Kotlin.

Collapse
 
meatboy profile image
Meat Boy
  • Reconstructioned side project app with a new version of React Native
  • Date with my SO 🥰
Collapse
 
johnkibirige005 profile image
Kibirige John

Hi,
I was able to finish the second module, at microverse (a remote software development school) which was about Javascript and the web and got a certificate for it.

Collapse
 
efecollins profile image
Efosa Collins EVBOWE

I have started a 40 days guide to understanding my purpose. I'm really expectant.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Congrats everyone! Great posts as always!