DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey peeps πŸ‘‹

Hope that everybody has a wonderful weekend. πŸ™Œ

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Taking a joyride! 🏍

A group of 3 doggos riding a motorcycle with a sidecar, looking cute as heck

Top comments (41)

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

I managed to complete my 22-post series on Design Patterns in C# πŸ₯²πŸ₯²πŸ₯²

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

congrats!

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

Thank you!

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

I’m 3 weeks in leading my own team and yesterday I had such a great moment of sharing a success with one of my team. We did some pair programming on some code as it was some code he’s not familiar with. it turned out to be a lot more complex than I originally thought when I allocated him the work. It got my brain going too trying to figure it out and mentor him at the same time, it was a mixture of front and backend and when we finally nailed it we high fived and cheered at his desk πŸ˜…πŸ‘πŸ» it was such a great experience for both and I felt so proud and happy at our success πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

Really positive and valuable XP that it deserves to be shared!!! πŸ₯³οΈπŸ₯³οΈπŸ₯³οΈ
Best wishes πŸ€—to you and your new team, Lou.

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

I made 10 sheets of recycled paper. Eventually I'll have enough for a whole book!

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen • Edited

@michaeltharrington, @vulcanwm

It's relatively simple. I have a bag of shredded paper, a plastic tub for holding the paper slurry, a food blender for creating the slurry, ten sheets of felt to dry the paper on, a small sponge, and a mesh frame to form the paper sheets.

Put about half to three quarters of a litre of water in the blender, with a few handfuls of shreddings. Blend until it's a grey mush. It shouldn't take long, less than a minute.

Pour the mush into the tub, and add enough water that you can move the slurry around with the framed mesh. You can make more mush if you have diluted it too much. A bit of trial and error here.

Fill the mesh with slurry, so that it looks like a sheet of paper.

On a flat surface (that you don't mind getting wet), put a sheet of felt onto the mesh, to cover the pulp, then flip the mesh over onto the surface.

Through the mesh, tamp the paper with the sponge, so that the paper attaches to the felt. You will gather a fair amount of water up. I usually squeeze that back into the tub. You need to be fairly patient with this step: tamp tamp, squeeze, tamp tamp squeeze, and so on. On my first few sheets I tried to go too quickly and the pulp was still partially stuck to the mesh when I lifted it up, which ruined the sheet of paper. Once you're getting very little water into the sponge you should be good to go.

Lift the mesh off the felt and leave the paper to dry for a couple of days.

I'm using artificial felt, which melts, but I think with regular felt you can use a heat gun (carefully!) or a hair dryer to speed up the drying.

Once it's dry you can peel the sheet of paper off the felt and you're done.

It was quite relaxing once I got the hang of it, and a good way to recycle my old paperwork.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

that's amazing!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Wow, yeah this is super cool!! It's an interesting process... though it's involved, I can imagine it being pretty relaxing. 😌

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

wow, how'd you do that?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Woooaaa... what's this all about? How're you making recycled paper?

Collapse
 
bhendi profile image
Jyothikrishna

I have managed to publish an article on how to build an accordion and I got selected as a moderator for #react :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Liquid syntax error: Unknown tag 'emebd'

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

Congrats!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
sameerahmed123 profile image
sameer-ahmed123

im making an authentication package for django , i plan on adding google ,github and facebook authentiaction to it

im just excited on how much time i will save on future projects when this is complete

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

@sameerahmed123
Hi, i've just started my journey to python dev, and i want to contribute to your current project. could u plz share the URL for me? πŸ€—

Collapse
 
sameerahmed123 profile image
sameer-ahmed123

sure , but i got to warn you its in pretty ugly state right now 😁
Accounts-app-as -python-package

Thread Thread
 
sameerahmed123 profile image
sameer-ahmed123

if you want to contribute to the project you are more than welcome to .@thunder

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I went to a really fun concert last night! Saw the funk group Dopapod. If you're interested, you can see a full show of theirs here on YouTube.

Collapse
 
rainleander profile image
Rain Leander

I published a book!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh rock on!! Major congrats, Rain. That's awesome. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
rainleander profile image
Rain Leander

Thanks so much, Michael!

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I formalized things with what's next for me in my career and gave notice this morning. I'm moving out of teaching in a month and moving into consulting.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow, that's a cool change up. I'm sure you'll be an awesome consultant to work with, Matt. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Yep! But I'm also going to really miss teaching as well. I'll look for ways of scratching some of that itch as time goes on.

Collapse
 
dmitriiprusakov profile image
Dmitry Prusakov • Edited

πŸ₯³οΈ I published my first professional article!
But it's didn't got recognition.

πŸ€“ Does anyone have any tips for newbies?
Great weekend to everyone!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Playing around with MRSK, and found great content on the subject via

Big win finding someone publishing great stuff I care about

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

I win my account back!!!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Awww yeah, Imam. πŸ™Œ

I'll be posting that good ole music thread in just a few. Look forward to tuning into your suggestions!

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

Yow!!!! πŸ›Ή

The next suggestion is "Ethnic Music" and this will be very interesting, because we will both learn and appreciate our respective cultures.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo good suggestion!!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

I had a nice spike in followers on dev together with quite a few others. I understand it's due to work you did on signup so well done on that!

Worked on promoting this live interview for next week.

I'm learning the shopify API which is a nightmare.

Prepared a talk for JJUG.

Collapse
 
cocodelacueva profile image
coco

I am making my first app in ReactNative. I have started this week. :D

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

well done! that was me a few weeks ago

Collapse
 
longmenzhitong profile image
longmenzhitong

Order my new Macbook Pro M2 ( - ;

Collapse
 
sjdonado profile image
sjdonado

I finally wrote a post that I've been meaning to write for months! dev.to/sjdonado/tower-of-hanoi-in-.... I'm so happy to see how it was received by the community :)